Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB4135
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB4135  100th General Assembly




State of Illinois
2017 and 2018


Introduced , by Rep. Avery Bourne


20 ILCS 5120/10

    Amends the Flue Gas Desulfurization (FGD) Task Force Act. Extends the date by which the Task Force shall report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly from December 31, 2017 to December 31, 2018. Effective immediately.

LRB100 15276 RJF 30198 b





HB4135LRB100 15276 RJF 30198 b

1    AN ACT concerning State government.
2    Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
3represented in the General Assembly:
4    Section 5. The Flue Gas Desulfurization (FGD) Task Force
5Act is amended by changing Section 10 as follows:
6    (20 ILCS 5120/10)
7    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2019)
8    Sec. 10. The FGD Task Force.
9    (a) The FGD Task Force is hereby created to increase the
10amount of Illinois Basin coal use in generation units. The FGD
11Task Force shall identify and evaluate the costs, benefits, and
12barriers of new and modified FGD, or other post-combustion
13sulfur dioxide emission control technologies, and other
14capital improvements, that would be necessary for generation
15units to comply with the sulfur dioxide National Ambient Air
16Quality Standards (NAAQS) while improving the ability of those
17generation units to meet the effluent limitation guidelines
18(ELGs) for wastewater discharges and enhancing the
19marketability of the generation units' FGD byproducts.
20    (b) The membership of the Task Force shall be as follows:
21        (1) Two members of the Senate appointed by the
22    President of the Senate.
23        (2) Two members of the Senate appointed by the Minority



HB4135- 2 -LRB100 15276 RJF 30198 b

1    Leader of the Senate.
2        (3) Two members of the House of appointed by the
3    Speaker of the House of Representatives.
4        (4) Two members of the House of Representatives
5    appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of
6    Representatives.
7        (5) Three members appointed by the Governor, two with
8    expertise in Illinois coal, coal mining, emission
9    reduction, or energy production; and one representative of
10    an electricity generator that owns multiple coal-fueled
11    electric generation plants with FGD or similar
12    technologies.
13        (6) The Director of Natural Resources, or his or her
14    designee.
15        (7) The Director of the Environmental Protection
16    Agency, or his or her designee.
17    (c) Task Force members shall serve without compensation but
18shall be reimbursed for travel expenses incurred in performing
19their duties.
20    (d) The Task Force shall report their findings and
21recommendations to the General Assembly by December 31, 2018
23(Source: P.A. 100-499, eff. 9-8-17.)
24    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
25becoming law.