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The School Start Date Study report is being submitted to comply with House Resolution 244 (Murphy),
which urges the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) to study the impact of the beginning a school
term during various points throughout August.

This report is transmitted on behalf of the State Superintendent of Education. For additional copies of
this report or for more specific information, please contact Amanda Elliott, Executive Director,
Legislative Affairs at (217) 782-6510 or aelliott@isbe.net.
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School Start Date Study

This report is being submitted to comply with House Resolution 244 (Murphy), which urges the lllinois
State Board of Education (ISBE) to study the impact of the beginning a school term during various points
throughout August.

The study was produced by ISBE’s Research and Evaluation Office:

Dr. Brenda M. Dixon, Research and Evaluation Officer
Dr. Shuwan Chiu, Principal Analyst

Nolan Fine

Dr. Ali Imran

Howard Hammel

Teresa Moy

Background
HR 244 (Murphy) was adopted by the Illinois House of Representatives on May 30, 2019. The resolution
urges ISBE to study the impact of beginning a school term during various points throughout August as

compared to after Labor Day.

The resolution requires ISBE to submit a report to the General Assembly by December 31, 2019, that
includes the following information:

1) Asummary of current school term start dates in school districts throughout Illinois, and
2) Laws in other states that govern when a school term may commence.

Research Questions
ISBE developed the following research questions to comply with the resolution:
1) What is the first student day of school for each of our 852 districts in Illinois? How many districts
start before Labor Day and how many districts start after Labor Day?

2) What policy or legislation do the other 49 states have regarding the first day of school? How
many states start before Labor Day and how many states start after Labor Day?



Research Question 1: What is the first student day of school for each of our 852 districts in Illinois? How
many districts start before Labor Day and how many districts start after Labor Day?

Per Section 10-19 of the School Code [105 ILCS 5/10-19], each local school board creates its own annual
school calendar. These calendars must specify school opening and closing dates that accommodate a
minimum term of at least 185 days to ensure 176 days of actual pupil attendance. Regional Offices of
Education (ROEs) are assigned primary approval of all district calendars in their jurisdiction, including
any changes. ISBE approves ROE alternative school program calendars as well as certain types of student
and teacher attendance days in district calendars.

ISBE utilizes the Student Information System and the School Calendar data systems to collect first day of
school date data. Six Local Education Agencies (LEAs) out of 852 school districts in Illinois (1 percent)
start school after Labor Day (Figure 1), which represents 18 percent of statewide student enrollment
(Figure 2).

Figure 1

% of LEAs Enroll Before/After Labor Day

1%

= LEAs start before Labor Day LEAs start after Labor Day

Figure 2

% of Students Enroll Before/After Labor Day

= Students enroll before Labor Day = Students enroll after Labor Day




Research Question 2: What policy or legislation do the other 49 states have regarding the first day of
school? How many states start before Labor Day and how many states start after Labor Day?

A uniform school calendar is an ongoing topic of discussion in states across our country. The first day of
school impacts state testing windows, data collection scheduling, and a myriad of other school and
community initiatives. Accordingly, a variety of strategies have been implemented or considered across
the United States.

Nationally, Hawaii is the only state that has a statewide school calendar; notably, Hawaii has only one
school district. The University of Vermont conducted a study and found that some states require a
uniform start date.

The Office of Legislative Research in Connecticut researched legislation in 2018 regarding school start
dates in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, and
Virginia. Only New York, Rhode Island, and Virginia regulated the first day of school. Eighteen of the 50
states have laws regulating the first day of school. Three of those states (Michigan, Minnesota, and
Wisconsin) prohibit starting school prior to Labor Day.



Appendix

State i;:tn"::::: Related Law or Regulation

Alabama No Most schools begin in early August.

Alaska No

Arizona No
Schools may not begin (i) on or after the Monday of the week in which August 19 falls;

Arkansas Yes (i} not earlier than August 14, and the third Monday of each August; {iii) no later than
August 26,

California No

Colorado No

Connecticut No

Delaware No

Florida Yes Schools may not begin until August 10.

Georgia No

Hawaii Yes All schools begin August 5.

Idaho No

Hlinois No

. Public schools and accredited nonpublic schools may not begin before the last

Indiana Yes .
Monday in August.

lowa Yes Schools may not begin before August 23.

Kansas No

Kentucky Yes A local board rr}ay adopt‘a variable instructional school year calendar, with the first
school day begin no earlier than the Monday closest to August 26,

Louisiana No

Maine No

Maryland No

Massachusetts No

Michigan Yes Schools must begin after Labor Day.

Minnesota Yes Schools must begin after Labor Day.

Mississippi Yes Schools may begin on or after the third Monday in August,
Schools may begin no sooner than 10 days before the first Monday in September. A

Missouri Yes law takes effect for the 2020-21 school year that would prohibit schools from starting
more than 14 calendar days before Labor Day.

Montana No

Nebraska No

Nevada No

New

Hampshire No

New Jersey No

New Mexico No

New York Yes Schools must begin in September.




North Carolina Yes Schools may not begin before the Monday closest to August 26.

North Dakota No

Ohio No

Oklahoma No

Oregon No

Pennsylvania No

Rhode Island Yes Schools may not begin later than the first Thursday following the first Monday of
September.

South Carolina Yes Schools may not begin before the third Monday in August.

South Dakota No

Tennessee Yes Schools may not begin before August 1 unless approved by the local school board.

Texas Yes Schools may not begin before the fourth Monday in August.

Utah No

Vermont No

Virginia Yes Schools may begin no eariier than 14 days before Labor Day.

Washington No

West Virginia No

Wisconsin Yes Schools may not begin prior to September 1.

Wyoming No
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