

January 12, 2022

Governor JB Pritzker 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Governor Pritzker:

Pursuant to Public Act 88-593, as amended, at a meeting held January 11, 2022, the Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement System (SERS) certified an FY 2023 State contribution rate of 53.258% of projected payroll, or \$2,593,827,000. The FY 2023 certification includes \$2,484,585,000 for the State contribution to SERS and \$109,242,000 for debt service on the 2003 pension obligation bonds. Of the \$2,484,585,000 for the State contribution to SERS, \$619,845,000 is for the employer's portion of the expected FY 2023 normal cost. The remaining \$1,864,740,000 is due to the unfunded liabilities.

Consistent with the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 67, the SERS Board of Trustees adopted a funding policy, or Actuarially Determined Contribution (ADC) policy in 2015. The ADC provides for annual contributions that are equal to the annual normal cost of benefits earned plus amortization of the unfunded actuarial liability over a 25-year period as a level percent of payroll. The remaining amortization period is 19 years. The FY 2023 ADC is \$3,045,940,587, or \$561.4 million higher than the amount calculated under the statutory funding plan.

The ADC is used in financial reporting but will not affect the certified employer contributions to SERS, which will still be certified by the Board pursuant to the statutory funding plan.

Attached is the FY 2021 actuarial valuation along with the FY 2023 certification letter prepared by the System's actuaries. The actuarial valuation, membership data used in the valuation, and all calculations were reviewed by the State Actuary.

Very truly yours,

Timothy B. Blain

Timothy Blair Executive Secretary

cc: Governor JB Pritzker, Chicago Office
Susana A. Mendoza, Comptroller
Alexis Sturm, Director, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Marc Staley, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Cory Burris, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
John Hollman, House Clerk
Brad Bolin, Assistant House Clerk.

Tim Anderson, Senate Clerk Scott Kaiser, Assistant Secretary of the Senate Clayton Klenke, Director, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability Dan Hankiewicz, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability Julie Bae, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability Senate President Don Harmon Senate Republican Leader Dan McConchie Speaker of the House Chris Welch Republican Leader Jim Durkin Tiffany Moy, Speaker's Office Andrew Freiheit, House Republican Staff Jake Butcher, Senate President's Office Jenna Mitchell, Senate Republican Staff Aaron Holmes, Senate President's Office Jonathan Peebles, Senate President's Office Mark Jarmer, House Democratic Staff Mike Mahoney, House Republican Staff Joe Sculley, House Republican Staff Scott Hurrelbrink, Senate Republican Staff Kyle Foutch, Senate Republican Staff Rich Rockwood, Senate Republican Staff Jacob Nelson, House Democratic Staff