AN ACT concerning State government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

Section 3. The High-Speed Railway Commission Act is amended by changing Section 5 as follows:

(20 ILCS 4102/5)

(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)

Sec. 5. Commission created; membership.

- (a) There is created the High-Speed Railway Commission to carry out the duties set forth in Section 10.
- (b) The Commission shall be composed of the following members:
 - (1) The Governor or his or her designee.
 - (2) The President of the Senate or his or her designee.
 - (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate or his or her designee.
 - (4) The Speaker of the House <u>of Representatives</u> or his or her designee.
 - (5) The Minority Leader of the House <u>of</u>
 Representatives or his or her designee.
 - (6) The Secretary of Transportation or his or her designee.

- (7) The Chairperson of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority or his or her designee.
- (8) The Chairperson of the Illinois Commerce Commission or his or her designee.
- (9) The Chairperson of the <u>Commuter Rail Board</u> Board of Directors of Metra or his or her designee.
- (10) The Mayor of the City of Chicago or his or her designee.
- (11) A representative of a labor organization representing rail workers, appointed by the Governor.
- (12) A representative of a trade organization related to the rail industry, appointed by the Governor.
- (13) A representative of the Metropolitan Mayors and Managers Association, appointed by the Governor.
- (14) A representative from the Illinois Railroad Association, appointed by the Governor.
- (15) A representative from the University of Illinois System, appointed by the Governor.
- (16) A representative from the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning, appointed by the Governor.
- (17) A representative of the Illinois Municipal League, appointed by the Governor.
- (18) A representative of the Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District, appointed by the Governor.
- (19) A representative of the Region 1 Planning Council, appointed by the Governor.

- (20) A representative of the McLean County Regional Planning Commission, appointed by the Governor.
- (21) A representative of the East-West Gateway Council of Governments, appointed by the Governor.
- (c) The Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission. The Vice-Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission.
- (d) Appointments made by the Governor under subsection (b) shall be made no later than January 1, 2023 The Governor, President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall make their initial appointments to the Commission by January 1, 2022.
- (e) Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in the same manner as provided under subsection (b) initial appointments.
- (f) Total membership of the Commission consists of the number of members serving on the Commission, not including any vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the bylaws of the Commission.
 - (q) The Commission shall meet at least quarterly, and hold

its first meeting within 30 days after the appointment of members under subsection (d).

(h) Members of the Commission shall receive no compensation for service as members.

(Source: P.A. 102-261, eff. 8-6-21.)

Section 5. The Local Journalism Task Force Act is amended by changing Sections 10 and 25 as follows:

(20 ILCS 4108/10)

(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)

Sec. 10. Membership.

- (a) The Task Force shall include the following members: one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; one member of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate; one member of the Senate appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate; and one member appointed by the Governor.
- (b) The Task Force shall also include the following members appointed by the Governor: one representative of the Chicago News Guild; one representative of the Chicago Chapter of the National Association of Broadcast Employees and Technicians—Communication Workers of America; one representative of the Medill School of Journalism, Media,

Marketing Communications Integrated at Northwestern University; one representative of the Public Affairs Reporting Program at the University of Illinois at Springfield; one representative of the School of Journalism at Southern Illinois University Carbondale; one representative of the Illinois Press Association; one representative of the Illinois Broadcasters Association; one representative of the Illinois Legislative Correspondents Association; one representative of the Illinois Public Broadcasting Council; one representative of the Illinois News Broadcasters Association: one representative of the University of Illinois at one representative of the Chicago Urbana-Champaign; Independent Media Alliance; one representative of the National Association of Black Journalists; one representative of the Association of LGBTQ Journalists; one representative of the National Association of Hispanic Journalists; representative of the Asian American Journalists Association; one representative of the Native American Journalists Association; and one representative of the Illinois Municipal League.

(c) Appointments shall be made no later than 30 days following the effective date of this Act. Any additional appointments made pursuant to this amendatory Act of the 102nd General Assembly shall be made no later than 30 days following the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd General Assembly.

(Source: P.A. 102-569, eff. 1-1-22; 102-671, eff. 11-30-21.)

(20 ILCS 4108/25)

(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)

Sec. 25. Findings and recommendations. The Task Force shall submit its findings, along with its recommendations for legislation, to the Governor and the General Assembly no later than <u>July 1, 2023</u> one year after the effective date of this Act.

(Source: P.A. 102-569, eff. 1-1-22.)

Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.