AN ACT concerning transportation.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

Section 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the High-Speed Railway Commission Act.

Section 5. Commission created; membership.

- (a) There is created the High-Speed Railway Commission to carry out the duties set forth in Section 10.
- (b) The Commission shall be composed of the following members:
 - (1) The Governor or his or her designee.
 - (2) The President of the Senate or his or her designee.
 - (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate or his or her designee.
 - (4) The Speaker of the House or his or her designee.
 - (5) The Minority Leader of the House or his or her designee.
 - (6) The Secretary of Transportation or his or her designee.
 - (7) The Chairperson of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority or his or her designee.
 - (8) The Chairperson of the Illinois Commerce

Commission or his or her designee.

- (9) The Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Metra or his or her designee.
- (10) The Mayor of the City of Chicago or his or her designee.
- (11) A representative of a labor organization representing rail workers.
- (12) A representative of a trade organization related to the rail industry.
- (13) A representative of the Metropolitan Mayors and Managers Association.
- (14) A representative from the Illinois Railroad Association.
- (15) A representative from the University of Illinois System.
- (16) A representative from the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning.
- (17) A representative of the Illinois Municipal League.
- (18) A representative of the Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District.
- (19) A representative of the Region 1 Planning Council.
- (20) A representative of the McLean County Regional Planning Commission.
 - (21) A representative of the East-West Gateway Council

of Governments.

- (c) The Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission. The Vice-Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission.
- (d) The Governor, President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall make their initial appointments to the Commission by January 1, 2022.
- (e) Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in the same manner as initial appointments.
- (f) Total membership of the Commission consists of the number of members serving on the Commission, not including any vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the bylaws of the Commission.
 - (g) The Commission shall meet at least quarterly.

Section 10. Duties of Commission. The High-Speed Railway Commission shall create a statewide plan for a high-speed rail line and feeder network connecting St. Louis, Missouri and Chicago, Illinois that includes current existing Amtrak and

Metra services, connects the cities of Rockford, Moline, Peoria, and Decatur, and uses inter-city bus service to coordinate with the rail line. The Commission shall conduct a ridership study and shall make findings and recommendations concerning a governance structure, the frequency of service, and implementation of the plan. The Commission shall report to the General Assembly and the Governor no later than December 31 of each year.

Section 15. Administrative support. The Department of Transportation shall provide administrative and other support to the Commission.

Section 20. Repeal. This Act is repealed on January 1, 2027.

Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.