State of Illinois
92nd General Assembly

   [ Search ]   [ PDF text ]   [ Legislation ]   
[ Home ]   [ Back ]   [ Bottom ]

[ Introduced ][ Engrossed ]


SB1024 Enrolled                                LRB9208153DHmb

 1        AN ACT concerning vehicles.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,
 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by
 5    adding Section 3-648 as follows:

 6        (625 ILCS 5/3-648 new)
 7        Sec. 3-648.  Army Combat Veteran license plates.
 8        (a)  In  addition to any other special license plate, the
 9    Secretary,  upon  receipt  of   all   applicable   fees   and
10    applications  made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of
11    State, may  issue  Army  Combat  Veteran  license  plates  to
12    residents  of  Illinois  who  meet  eligibility  requirements
13    prescribed  by  the  Secretary  of  State.   The special Army
14    Combat Veteran plate  issued  under  this  Section  shall  be
15    affixed  only to passenger vehicles of the first division and
16    motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more  than
17    8,000  pounds.  Plates issued under this Section shall expire
18    according to the staggered multi-year  procedure  established
19    by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
20        (b)  The  plates  shall  display the Army Combat Infantry
21    Badge.  In all other respects, the design, color, and  format
22    of the plates shall be within the discretion of the Secretary
23    of State.  The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow
24    the  plates  to be issued as vanity plates or personalized in
25    accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code.  The plates are
26    not required to designate "Land Of Lincoln", as prescribed in
27    subsection (b) of Section 3-412 of this Code.  The  Secretary
28    shall  prescribe  the eligibility requirements and, in his or
29    her discretion,  shall  approve  and  prescribe  stickers  or
30    decals as provided under Section 3-412.
31        (c)  An applicant shall be charged a $15 fee for original
SB1024 Enrolled             -2-                LRB9208153DHmb
 1    issuance  in  addition  to  the  applicable registration fee.
 2    This additional fee shall be deposited into the Secretary  of
 3    State  Special  License  Plate  Fund.  For  each registration
 4    renewal period, a $2 fee,  in  addition  to  the  appropriate
 5    registration  fee,  shall  be  charged and shall be deposited
 6    into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.

 7        Section 99.  Effective date.  This Act  takes  effect  on
 8    January 1, 2002.

[ Top ]