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 1        AN ACT in relation to vehicles.

 2        Be it  enacted  by  the  People  of  the  State  of  Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Sections 6-103 and 6-208 as follows:

 6        (625 ILCS 5/6-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-103)

 7        Sec. 6-103. What persons shall not be licensed as drivers

 8    or  granted permits.  The Secretary of State shall not issue,

 9    renew, or allow the retention of  any  driver's  license  nor

10    issue any permit under this Code:

11             1.  To any person, as a driver, who is under the age

12        of  18  years  except  as  provided in Section 6-107, and

13        except that an instruction permit  may  be  issued  under

14        paragraphs (a) and (b) of Section 6-105 to a child who is

15        not less than 15 years of age if the child is enrolled in

16        an approved driver education course as defined in Section

17        1-103  of this Code and requires an instruction permit to

18        participate therein, except that  an  instruction  permit

19        may  be issued under the provisions of Section 6-107.1 to

20        a child who is 17 years and 9 months of age  without  the

21        child  having  enrolled  in  an approved driver education

22        course and except  that  an  instruction  permit  may  be

23        issued  to  a child who is at least 15 years and 6 months

24        of age, is enrolled  in  school,  meets  the  educational

25        requirements  of the Driver Education Act, and has passed

26        examinations  the  Secretary  of  State  in  his  or  her

27        discretion may prescribe;

28             2.  To any person who is under the age of 18  as  an

29        operator  of a motorcycle other than a motor driven cycle

30        unless  the  person  has,  in  addition  to  meeting  the

31        provisions of Section 6-107 of  this  Code,  completed  a
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 1        motorcycle  training  course  approved  by  the  Illinois

 2        Department  of  Transportation and successfully completes

 3        the required Secretary  of  State's  motorcycle  driver's

 4        examination;

 5             3.  To  any  person,  as  a  driver,  whose driver's

 6        license  or  permit  has  been  suspended,   during   the

 7        suspension,  nor  to any person whose driver's license or

 8        permit has been revoked, except as provided  in  Sections

 9        6-205, 6-206, and 6-208;

10             4.  To  any  person,  as  a driver, who is a user of

11        alcohol or any other drug to a degree  that  renders  the

12        person incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle;

13             5.  To  any  person, as a driver, who has previously

14        been adjudged to be afflicted with or suffering from  any

15        mental  or physical disability or disease and who has not

16        at the time of application been restored to competency by

17        the methods provided by law;

18             6.  To any person, as a driver, who is  required  by

19        the  Secretary  of  State  to  submit an alcohol and drug

20        evaluation or take an examination provided  for  in  this

21        Code  unless  the  person  has  successfully  passed  the

22        examination and submitted any required evaluation;

23             7.  To   any   person  who  is  required  under  the

24        provisions of the laws of this State to deposit  security

25        or  proof  of  financial  responsibility  and who has not

26        deposited the security or proof;

27             8.  To any person when the Secretary  of  State  has

28        good  cause  to  believe  that  the  person  by reason of

29        physical or mental disability would not be able to safely

30        operate a motor vehicle upon  the  highways,  unless  the

31        person shall furnish to the Secretary of State a verified

32        written  statement, acceptable to the Secretary of State,

33        from a competent medical specialist to  the  effect  that

34        the  operation of a motor vehicle by the person would not
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 1        be inimical to the public safety;

 2             9.  To any person, as a driver, who is 69  years  of

 3        age or older, unless the person has successfully complied

 4        with the provisions of Section 6-109;

 5             10.  To  any  person  convicted, within 12 months of

 6        application for a license, of any of the sexual  offenses

 7        enumerated  in  paragraph  2 of subsection (b) of Section

 8        6-205;

 9             11.  To any person who is under the age of 21  years

10        with  a  classification  prohibited  in  paragraph (b) of

11        Section 6-104 and to any person who is under the  age  of

12        18  years  with  a classification prohibited in paragraph

13        (c) of Section 6-104;

14             12.  To any person who has been either convicted  of

15        or adjudicated under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 based

16        upon  a  violation  of  the  Cannabis  Control Act or the

17        Illinois Controlled Substances Act while that person  was

18        in  actual  physical  control  of  a  motor vehicle.  For

19        purposes of this Section, any person placed on  probation

20        under  Section  10 of the Cannabis Control Act or Section

21        410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act  shall  not

22        be  considered convicted. Any person found guilty of this

23        offense, while in actual  physical  control  of  a  motor

24        vehicle,  shall have an entry made in the court record by

25        the judge that this offense did occur  while  the  person

26        was  in  actual  physical  control of a motor vehicle and

27        order the clerk of the court to report the  violation  to

28        the  Secretary  of State as such.  The Secretary of State

29        shall not issue a new license or permit for a  period  of

30        one year;

31             13.  To  any person who is under the age of 18 years

32        and who has committed the offense of  operating  a  motor

33        vehicle without a valid license or permit in violation of

34        Section 6-101; or                         --
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 1             14.  To any person who is 90 days or more delinquent

 2        in  court  ordered  child  support  payments  or has been

 3        adjudicated in arrears in an amount  equal  to  90  days'

 4        obligation  or more and who has been found in contempt of

 5        court for failure to pay  the  support,  subject  to  the

 6        requirements  and  procedures of Article VII of Chapter 7

 7        of the Illinois Vehicle Code; or.                                      ____                                          -

 8             15.  To  any  person  released  from   a   term   of               ____________________________________________________

 9        imprisonment  for  violating  Section 9-3 of the Criminal          _________________________________________________________

10        Code of 1961 relating  to  reckless  homicide  within  24          _________________________________________________________

11        months of release from a term of imprisonment.          ______________________________________________

12        The  Secretary  of  State  shall  retain  all  conviction

13    information,  if  the  information  is  required  to  be held

14    confidential under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.

15    (Source: P.A. 90-369, eff. 1-1-98; 90-733, eff. 8-11-98.)

16        (625 ILCS 5/6-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-208)

17        Sec. 6-208.  Period of  Suspension  -  Application  After

18    Revocation.

19        (a)  Except  as  otherwise  provided  by this Code or any

20    other law of this State, the Secretary  of  State  shall  not

21    suspend  a  driver's  license, permit or privilege to drive a

22    motor vehicle on the highways for a period of more  than  one

23    year.

24        (b)  Any  person  whose  license,  permit or privilege to

25    drive a motor vehicle on the highways has been revoked  shall

26    not  be  entitled  to  have such license, permit or privilege

27    renewed or restored.  However, such  person  may,  except  as

28    provided   under   subsection  (d)  of  Section  6-205,  make

29    application for a license pursuant to Section  6-106  (i)  if

30    the revocation was for a cause which has been removed or (ii)

31    as provided in the following subparagraphs:

32             1.  Except as provided in subparagraphs 2, 3, and 4,

33        the  person  may make application for a license after the
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 1        expiration of one year from the  effective  date  of  the

 2        revocation  or,  in  the case of a violation of paragraph

 3        (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code or a similar provision

 4        of a local ordinance, after the  expiration  of  3  years

 5        from the effective date of the revocation or, in the case

 6        of  a  violation  of  Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of

 7        1961 relating to the offense of reckless homicide,  after

 8        the  expiration of 2 years from the effective date of the

 9        revocation or after the expiration of 24 months from  the                     ______________________________________________

10        date of release from a period of imprisonment as provided          _________________________________________________________

11        in Section 6-103 of this Code, whichever is later.          _________________________________________________

12             2.  If  such  person  is  convicted  of committing a

13        second violation within a 20 year period of:

14                  (A)  Section 11-501 of this Code, or a  similar

15             provision of a local ordinance; or

16                  (B)  Paragraph  (b)  of  Section 11-401 of this

17             Code, or a similar provision of a  local  ordinance;

18             or

19                  (C)  Section  9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961,

20             as amended, relating  to  the  offense  of  reckless

21             homicide; or

22                  (D)  any  combination  of  the  above  offenses

23             committed at different instances;

24        then  such  person may not make application for a license

25        until after the expiration of 5 years from the  effective

26        date  of  the most recent revocation.  The 20 year period

27        shall be computed by using the dates  the  offenses  were

28        committed  and  shall  also  include similar out-of-state

29        offenses.

30             3.  However, except as provided in  subparagraph  4,

31        if  such  person  is  convicted of committing a third, or

32        subsequent, violation or any  combination  of  the  above

33        offenses,   including   similar   out-of-state  offenses,

34        contained in subparagraph 2, then  such  person  may  not

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



SB602 Engrossed             -6-                LRB9203777DHcs

 1        make application for a license until after the expiration

 2        of  10  years  from the effective date of the most recent

 3        revocation.

 4             4.  The  person  may  not  make  application  for  a

 5        license if the person is convicted of committing a fourth

 6        or subsequent violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or

 7        a similar provision of a local ordinance,  paragraph  (b)

 8        of  Section  11-401  of  this  Code,  Section  9-3 of the

 9        Criminal Code of 1961, or a combination of these offenses

10        or similar provisions  of  local  ordinances  or  similar

11        out-of-state  offenses  if  the  original  revocation  or

12        suspension  was  for  a  violation  of  Section 11-501 or

13        11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of  a  local

14        ordinance.

15        Notwithstanding  any  other  provision  of this Code, all

16    persons referred to in this paragraph (b) may not have  their

17    privileges  restored  until the Secretary receives payment of

18    the required reinstatement fee pursuant to subsection (b)  of

19    Section 6-118.

20        In no event shall the Secretary issue such license unless

21    and until such person has had a hearing pursuant to this Code

22    and the appropriate administrative rules and the Secretary is

23    satisfied,  after  a  review or investigation of such person,

24    that to grant the privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the

25    highways will not endanger the public safety or welfare.

26    (Source: P.A. 90-543,  eff.  12-1-97;  90-738,  eff.  1-1-99;

27    91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)
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