
92_SB0178                                      LRB9201960RCcd

 1        AN ACT in  relation  to  Firearm  Owner's  Identification

 2    Cards.

 3        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 4    represented in the General Assembly:

 5        Section 5.  The Firearm Owners Identification Card Act is

 6    amended by changing Sections 4, 5, and 13.2 as follows:

 7        (430 ILCS 65/4) (from Ch. 38, par. 83-4)

 8        Sec.  4.  (a)  Each  applicant  for  a  Firearm   Owner's

 9    Identification Card must:

10             (1)  Make  application  on  blank forms prepared and

11        furnished at convenient locations throughout the State by                    --------------------------------------------

12        the Department of State Police and appear in person at  a                                         __________________________

13        local  police  station,  county  sheriff's office, or the          _________________________________________________________

14        Department  of  State  Police  and  before  receiving  an          _________________________________________________________

15        application, present positive evidence of  identification          _________________________________________________________

16        to  a  law enforcement officer, including but not limited          _________________________________________________________

17        to,   an   Illinois   driver's   license   or    Illinois          _________________________________________________________

18        Identification Card; which application shall be signed by          _________________________________________________________

19        the law enforcement officer; and          ___________________________

20             (2)  Submit evidence under penalty of perjury to the

21        Department of State Police that:

22                  (i)  He  or  she is 21 years of age or over, or

23             if he or she is under 21 years of age that he or she

24             has the written consent of  his  or  her  parent  or

25             legal  guardian  to possess and acquire firearms and

26             firearm ammunition and that he or she has never been

27             convicted of a  misdemeanor  other  than  a  traffic

28             offense  or  adjudged delinquent, provided, however,

29             that  such  parent  or  legal  guardian  is  not  an

30             individual prohibited from having a Firearm  Owner's

31             Identification  Card and files an affidavit with the
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 1             Department as prescribed by the  Department  stating

 2             that  he or she is not an individual prohibited from

 3             having a Card;

 4                  (ii)  He or she has not  been  convicted  of  a

 5             felony   under   the  laws  of  this  or  any  other

 6             jurisdiction;

 7                  (iii)  He or she is not addicted to narcotics;

 8                  (iv)  He or she has not been  a  patient  in  a

 9             mental institution within the past 5 years;

10                  (v)  He or she is not mentally retarded;

11                  (vi)  He   or  she  is  not  an  alien  who  is

12             unlawfully present in the United  States  under  the

13             laws of the United States;

14                  (vii)  He  or she is not subject to an existing

15             order of protection  prohibiting  him  or  her  from

16             possessing a firearm;

17                  (viii)  He or she has not been convicted within

18             the  past  5  years  of battery, assault, aggravated

19             assault, violation of an order of protection,  or  a

20             substantially    similar    offense    in    another

21             jurisdiction,   in  which  a  firearm  was  used  or

22             possessed;

23                  (ix)  He or  she  has  not  been  convicted  of

24             domestic  battery or a substantially similar offense

25             in another jurisdiction committed on  or  after  the

26             effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997; and

27                  (x)  He  or  she  has not been convicted within

28             the  past  5  years  of  domestic   battery   or   a

29             substantially    similar    offense    in    another

30             jurisdiction  committed before the effective date of

31             this amendatory Act of 1997; and

32             (3)  Upon request by the Department of State Police,

33        sign a release on a form prescribed by the Department  of

34        State  Police  waiving  any  right to confidentiality and
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 1        requesting the disclosure  to  the  Department  of  State

 2        Police  of  limited  mental  health institution admission

 3        information from another state, the District of Columbia,

 4        any other territory of the United States,  or  a  foreign

 5        nation  concerning  the applicant for the sole purpose of

 6        determining whether the applicant is or was a patient  in

 7        a  mental  health institution and disqualified because of

 8        that   status   from   receiving   a   Firearm    Owner's

 9        Identification  Card.  No mental health care or treatment

10        records may be requested.  The information received shall

11        be destroyed within one year of receipt.

12        (b)  Each application form shall  include  the  following

13    statement  printed  in bold type:  "Warning: False statements

14    of the applicant shall result in prosecution for  perjury  in

15    accordance with Section 32-2 of the Criminal Code of 1961.".

16        (c)  Upon  such  written  consent, pursuant to Section 4,

17    paragraph (a) (2) (i), the parent or  legal  guardian  giving

18    the  consent  shall  be liable for any damages resulting from

19    the applicant's use of firearms or firearm ammunition.

20    (Source: P.A.  90-493,  eff.  1-1-98;  91-514,  eff.  1-1-00;

21    91-694, eff. 4-13-00.)

22        (430 ILCS 65/5) (from Ch. 38, par. 83-5)

23        Sec.  5.   The  Department  of  State Police shall either

24    approve or deny all applications within 30 days from the date

25    they  are  received,  and  every  applicant  found  qualified

26    pursuant to Section 8 of this Act by the Department shall  be

27    entitled  to  a  Firearm Owner's Identification Card upon the

28    payment of a $10 $5 fee. $3 of  each  fee  derived  from  the                   ___                       --

29    issuance of Firearm Owner's Identification Cards, or renewals

30    thereof,  shall be deposited in the Wildlife and Fish Fund in

31    the State Treasury; $1 of such fee shall be deposited in  the

32    General  Revenue Fund in the State Treasury and $6 $1 of such                                                      __                                                         --

33    fee shall be deposited in the  Firearm  Owner's  Notification
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 1    Fund.   Monies in the Firearm Owner's Notification Fund shall

 2    be used exclusively to pay for the cost of sending notices of

 3    expiration of  Firearm  Owner's  Identification  Cards  under

 4    Section  13.2  of  this  Act.  Excess  monies  in the Firearm

 5    Owner's Notification Fund shall be used to ensure the  prompt

 6    and  efficient  processing  of  applications  received  under

 7    Section 4 of this Act.

 8    (Source: P.A. 84-1426.)

 9        (430 ILCS 65/13.2) (from Ch. 38, par. 83-13.2)

10        Sec. 13.2.  The Department of State Police shall, 60 days

11    prior  to  the expiration of a Firearm Owner's Identification

12    Card, forward by first class mail to each person  whose  card

13    is to expire a notification of the expiration of the card and                                                                ---

14    an  application which may be used to apply for renewal of the      -------------------------------------------------------------

15    card. It is the obligation of the holder of a Firearm Owner's      ----

16    Identification Card to notify the Department of State  Police

17    of  any  address  change  since  the  issuance of the Firearm

18    Owner's Identification Card.

19    (Source: P.A. 91-690, eff. 4-13-00.)

20        Section 10.  The Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

21    changing Section 6-204 as follows:

22        (625 ILCS 5/6-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-204)

23        Sec. 6-204.  When Court to forward License and Reports.

24        (a)  For  the  purpose  of  providing to the Secretary of

25    State  the  records  essential  to  the  performance  of  the

26    Secretary's duties under  this  Code  to  cancel,  revoke  or

27    suspend  the  driver's  license  and privilege to drive motor

28    vehicles of certain minors adjudicated truant minors in  need

29    of  supervision, addicted, or delinquent and of persons found

30    guilty of the criminal offenses or traffic  violations  which

31    this  Code  recognizes  as  evidence relating to unfitness to
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 1    safely operate  motor  vehicles,  the  following  duties  are

 2    imposed upon public officials:

 3             (1)  Whenever any person is convicted of any offense

 4        for  which  this Code makes mandatory the cancellation or

 5        revocation of the driver's  license  or  permit  of  such

 6        person  by the Secretary of State, the judge of the court

 7        in  which  such  conviction  is  had  shall  require  the

 8        surrender to the clerk  of  the  court  of  all  driver's

 9        licenses or permits then held by the person so convicted,

10        and  the  clerk  of  the  court  shall,  within  10  days

11        thereafter,  forward  the same, together with a report of

12        such conviction, to the Secretary.

13             (2)  Whenever any person is convicted of any offense

14        under this Code or similar  offenses  under  a  municipal

15        ordinance,  other  than  regulations  governing standing,

16        parking  or  weights  of  vehicles,  and  excepting   the

17        following  enumerated  Sections  of  this  Code: Sections

18        11-1406  (obstruction  to  driver's  view  or   control),

19        11-1407  (improper opening of door into traffic), 11-1410

20        (coasting  on   downgrade),   11-1411   (following   fire

21        apparatus), 11-1419.01 (Motor Fuel Tax I.D. Card), 12-101

22        (driving   vehicle   which  is  in  unsafe  condition  or

23        improperly  equipped),  12-201(a)  (daytime   lights   on

24        motorcycles),  12-202 (clearance, identification and side

25        marker lamps), 12-204 (lamp or flag on projecting  load),

26        12-205  (failure  to display the safety lights required),

27        12-401  (restrictions  as  to  tire  equipment),   12-502

28        (mirrors),  12-503  (windshields must be unobstructed and

29        equipped  with  wipers),  12-601   (horns   and   warning

30        devices),   12-602  (mufflers,  prevention  of  noise  or

31        smoke),  12-603  (seat  safety  belts),  12-702  (certain

32        vehicles to  carry  flares  or  other  warning  devices),

33        12-703  (vehicles for oiling roads operated on highways),

34        12-710 (splash guards and replacements),  13-101  (safety
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 1        tests),  15-101  (size, weight and load), 15-102 (width),

 2        15-103 (height),  15-104  (name  and  address  on  second

 3        division  vehicles), 15-107 (length of vehicle), 15-109.1

 4        (cover or tarpaulin), 15-111 (weights), 15-112 (weights),

 5        15-301 (weights), 15-316 (weights), 15-318 (weights), and

 6        also excepting the following enumerated Sections  of  the

 7        Chicago  Municipal  Code: Sections 27-245 (following fire

 8        apparatus),  27-254  (obstruction  of  traffic),   27-258

 9        (driving  vehicle  which  is in unsafe condition), 27-259

10        (coasting on downgrade), 27-264 (use of horns and  signal

11        devices),  27-265 (obstruction to driver's view or driver

12        mechanism),  27-267  (dimming  of   headlights),   27-268

13        (unattended   motor  vehicle),  27-272  (illegal  funeral

14        procession), 27-273 (funeral  procession  on  boulevard),

15        27-275  (driving  freighthauling  vehicles on boulevard),

16        27-276 (stopping and  standing  of  buses  or  taxicabs),

17        27-277  (cruising  of  public passenger vehicles), 27-305

18        (parallel parking),  27-306  (diagonal  parking),  27-307

19        (parking  not  to  obstruct  traffic),  27-308 (stopping,

20        standing   or   parking   regulated),   27-311   (parking

21        regulations),  27-312   (parking   regulations),   27-313

22        (parking   regulations),  27-314  (parking  regulations),

23        27-315    (parking    regulations),    27-316    (parking

24        regulations),  27-317   (parking   regulations),   27-318

25        (parking   regulations),  27-319  (parking  regulations),

26        27-320    (parking    regulations),    27-321    (parking

27        regulations),  27-322   (parking   regulations),   27-324

28        (loading  and  unloading  at an angle), 27-333 (wheel and

29        axle loads), 27-334 (load restrictions  in  the  downtown

30        district),   27-335  (load  restrictions  in  residential

31        areas), 27-338 (width of  vehicles),  27-339  (height  of

32        vehicles),    27-340   (length   of   vehicles),   27-352

33        (reflectors  on  trailers),  27-353  (mufflers),   27-354

34        (display  of plates), 27-355 (display of city vehicle tax

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



                            -7-                LRB9201960RCcd

 1        sticker), 27-357  (identification  of  vehicles),  27-358

 2        (projecting  of  loads), and also excepting the following

 3        enumerated paragraphs of Section 2-201 of the  Rules  and

 4        Regulations of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority:

 5        (l)  (driving  unsafe  vehicle on tollway), (m) (vehicles

 6        transporting dangerous cargo not properly indicated),  it

 7        shall be the duty of the clerk of the court in which such

 8        conviction is had within 10 days thereafter to forward to

 9        the Secretary of State a report of the conviction and the

10        court  may  recommend  the  suspension  of  the  driver's

11        license or permit of the person so convicted.

12        The reporting requirements of this subsection shall apply

13    to  all  violations  stated in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this

14    subsection when the individual has been adjudicated under the

15    Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of  1987.   Such

16    reporting   requirements  shall  also  apply  to  individuals

17    adjudicated under the Juvenile  Court  Act  or  the  Juvenile

18    Court  Act  of 1987 who have committed a violation of Section

19    11-501  of  this  Code,  or  similar  provision  of  a  local

20    ordinance, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code  of  1961,  as

21    amended,  relating  to  the offense of reckless homicide. The

22    reporting requirements of this subsection shall also apply to

23    a truant minor in need of supervision, an addicted minor,  or

24    a  delinquent  minor and whose driver's license and privilege

25    to drive a motor vehicle has been ordered suspended for  such

26    times  as  determined  by the Court, but only until he or she

27    attains 18 years of age.  It shall be the duty of  the  clerk

28    of  the  court  in  which  adjudication is had within 10 days

29    thereafter to forward to the Secretary of State a  report  of

30    the  adjudication and the court order requiring the Secretary

31    of State to suspend the minor's driver's license and  driving

32    privilege  for such time as determined by the Court, but only

33    until he or she attains the age of 18  years.   All  juvenile

34    court  dispositions  reported to the Secretary of State under
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 1    this provision shall be processed by the Secretary  of  State

 2    as  if  the cases had been adjudicated in traffic or criminal

 3    court. However, information reported relative to the  offense

 4    of  reckless  homicide,  or Section 11-501 of this Code, or a

 5    similar provision of a local ordinance, shall  be  privileged

 6    and  available  only  to  the Secretary of State, courts, and

 7    police officers.

 8             (3)  Whenever  an  order  is  entered  vacating  the

 9        forfeiture of any bail, security or bond given to  secure

10        appearance  for  any  offense  under this Code or similar

11        offenses under municipal ordinance, it shall be the  duty

12        of  the clerk of the court in which such vacation was had

13        or the judge of such court if such court  has  no  clerk,

14        within  10 days thereafter to forward to the Secretary of

15        State a report of the vacation.

16             (4)  A  report   of   any   disposition   of   court

17        supervision  for  a  violation of Sections 6-303, 11-401,

18        11-501 or a  similar  provision  of  a  local  ordinance,

19        11-503  and 11-504 shall be forwarded to the Secretary of

20        State. A report of any disposition of  court  supervision

21        for  a  violation  of  an  offense  defined  as a serious

22        traffic violation in this Code or a similar provision  of

23        a  local ordinance committed by a person under the age of

24        21 years shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State.

25             (5)  Reports of conviction  and  sentencing  hearing

26        under  the  Juvenile  Court  Act of 1987 in an electronic

27        format shall be forwarded to the Secretary of  State  via

28        the  Supreme Court in the form and format required by the

29        Illinois Supreme  Court  and  established  by  a  written

30        agreement  between the Supreme Court and the Secretary of

31        State.  In  counties  with  a  population  over  300,000,

32        instead of  forwarding  reports  to  the  Supreme  Court,

33        reports  of  conviction  and sentencing hearing under the

34        Juvenile Court Act of 1987 in an electronic format may be
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 1        forwarded to the Secretary of State by the Circuit  Court

 2        Clerk  in  a form and format required by the Secretary of

 3        State and established by written  agreement  between  the

 4        Circuit  Court Clerk and the Secretary of State.  Failure

 5        to  forward  the  reports  of  conviction  or  sentencing

 6        hearing under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 as  required

 7        by  this  Section shall be deemed an omission of duty and

 8        it shall be the duty of the several State's Attorneys  to

 9        enforce the requirements of this Section.

10        (b)  Whenever a restricted driving permit is forwarded to

11    a  court,  as  a  result  of confiscation by a police officer

12    pursuant to the authority in Section 6-113(f),  it  shall  be

13    the  duty  of the clerk, or judge, if the court has no clerk,

14    to forward such restricted driving permit and a facsimile  of

15    the   officer's   citation  to  the  Secretary  of  State  as

16    expeditiously as practicable.

17        (c)  For the purposes of this Code, a forfeiture of  bail

18    or collateral deposited to secure a defendant's appearance in

19    court when forfeiture has not been vacated, or the failure of

20    a defendant to appear for trial after depositing his driver's

21    license  in  lieu  of  other  bail,  shall be equivalent to a

22    conviction.

23        (d)  For the purpose of providing the Secretary of  State

24    with  records necessary to properly monitor and assess driver

25    performance and assist the courts in the  proper  disposition

26    of repeat traffic law offenders, the clerk of the court shall

27    forward  to  the Secretary of State, either on paper or in an

28    electronic format, in a form  prescribed  by  the  Secretary,

29    records  of  any  disposition  of  court  supervision for any

30    traffic violation, excluding those listed in paragraph (a)(2)

31    of this Section, or records of a driver's participation in  a

32    driver remedial or rehabilitative program which was required,

33    through  a  court  order or court supervision, in relation to

34    the driver's arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 of this
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 1    Code or a similar provision  of  a  local  ordinance.   These

 2    reports  shall  be sent within 10 days after disposition, or,

 3    if  the  driver  is  referred  to  a   driver   remedial   or

 4    rehabilitative  program,  within  10  days  of  the  driver's

 5    referral  to  that  program.  These  reports  received by the

 6    Secretary of State, including those required to be  forwarded

 7    under  paragraph  (a)(4),  shall  be  privileged information,

 8    available only (i) to the affected driver and (ii) for use by

 9    the courts, police officers, prosecuting authorities, and the

10    Secretary of State.

11        (e)  For  the  purpose  of  protecting  law   enforcement          _________________________________________________________

12    officers  who make stops or arrests for alleged violations of      _____________________________________________________________

13    this Code or similar  provisions  of  local  ordinances,  the      _____________________________________________________________

14    Department  of  State  Police,  within  6  months  after  the      _____________________________________________________________

15    effective  date  of  this  amendatory Act of the 92nd General      _____________________________________________________________

16    Assembly, shall forward to the Secretary of State  the  name,      _____________________________________________________________

17    address, and other identifying information of each person who      _____________________________________________________________

18    is  a  valid  holder of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card      _____________________________________________________________

19    issued under the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act  and,      _____________________________________________________________

20    within  24 hours after issuance, the name, address, and other      _____________________________________________________________

21    identifying information of each person subsequently issued  a      _____________________________________________________________

22    Firearm  Owner's  Identification Card.  The information shall      _____________________________________________________________

23    be compiled in the computerized database that  the  Secretary      _____________________________________________________________

24    of  State  maintains  concerning driving records of each such      _____________________________________________________________

25    person who holds a driver's  license  or  permit,  restricted      _____________________________________________________________

26    driving permit, or judicial driving permit.  This information      _____________________________________________________________

27    shall  be  included  in  the  information  accessible  to law      _____________________________________________________________

28    enforcement officers in the enforcement of traffic laws.      ________________________________________________________

29    (Source: P.A.  90-369,  eff.  1-1-98;  90-590,  eff.  1-1-99;

30    91-357, eff. 7-29-99; 91-716, eff. 10-1-00.)
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