92_HR1154 LRB9218412HShs

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of
- 3 the State of Illinois are pleased to honor the achievements
- 4 of student athletes; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The El Paso High School football team, the
- 6 Comets, recently were runners-up in the Class 1A State
- 7 Football Tournament in Champaign; the Comets finished the
- 8 season with a record of 13 wins and one loss; and
- 9 WHEREAS, El Paso won its sixth consecutive Midstate
- 10 Conference North Division Championship and has won 38
- 11 straight conference games; the team set a Class 1A Playoff
- record for most points scored and the largest win in its 64-0
- 13 victory over Lewistown; Derek Hunsinger set a Class 1A
- 14 Playoff record for most rushing attempts in a title game with
- 15 42; the following school team records were set: most wins
- 16 (season), 13; most points per game, 40.6; most points
- 17 (quarter), 41; most yards rushing per game, 335.5; most
- 18 quarterback sacks (season), 27; and individual school records
- 19 were set by Derek Hunsinger for most points scored (season),
- 20 194; most touchdowns (season), 32; most yards rushing
- 21 (season), 2105; most yards rushing (career), 3661; and most
- 22 attempts rushing (career), 528; by Jesse Smith for most extra
- 23 points (season), 49; and by Chris Carr for most pass
- receptions (career), 82; most yards receiving (career), 1628,
- 25 most TD passes caught (career), 19; and most pass
- interceptions (career), 13; and
- 27 WHEREAS, The head coach of the Comets is Mike Souhrada;
- 28 the assistant coaches are Dick Bouris, Brian Quam, Joe
- 29 Malcom, Steve Rigsby, Seef Grauer, Brad Bouris, and John
- 30 Garrett; and
- 31 WHEREAS, The members of the team are Derek Hunsinger,
- 32 Kyle Pfister, Isaac Hill, Mike Duncan, Chris Carr, Joe Petta,

- 1 Brian Harsh, Aaron Seggerman, Seth Shepard, Matt Fogle,
- 2 Andrew Gilliland, Jesse Smith, Brandon Duffy, Isaac Schmidt,
- 3 Joel Dudley, Cory Price, Kyle Sigler, Ryan Matzke, Ian
- 4 McWilliams, Damon Armstrong, David Pignotti, Sean Tibbs, Kurt
- 5 Iskrzycki, Adam Bean, Jeremy Miller, Jeremy Ales, Jake
- 6 Barker, Brandon Sylvester, Randy Garrels, Rich Gustafson, Dan
- 7 Williamson, Jeff Gregory, Quentin Bateman, Brett Fogle,
- 8 Michael Haas, Bobby Lee, Josh Grimwood, and Max Brucker; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The team is grateful for their cheerleaders who
- 10 supported them throughout the season; they are Josey Jones,
- 11 Gina Miller, Katie Feeney, Jamie Mayotte, Jenny Jones, Billie
- Joe Payne, Marney Furrow, Aja Haas, Brooke Cunningham, Nicole
- Roger, Courtney Toillion, Krysti Huckins, Lesley Wilkey, and
- 14 Kim Wickenhauser; the cheerleader coach is Thayre Furrow and
- 15 Eric Craddock is Captain Comet; therefore, be it
- 16 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 17 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 18 we congratulate the Comets football team of El Paso High
- 19 School on finishing second in the State Class 1A Football
- 20 Tournament; and be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 22 presented to Head Coach Mike Souhrada and each of the
- 23 contributing members of the Comets mentioned herein with our
- 24 best wishes for their continued success.