92_HR1142 LRB9218402HShs

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of
- 3 Representatives offer our sincere congratulations to the
- 4 Driscoll Catholic High School Football Team on winning the
- 5 Class 4A State Championship on November 29, 2002; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Driscoll Catholic High School, located in
- 7 Addison, Illinois under the direction of the Diocese of
- 8 Joliet, was first founded under the Sisters of St. Francis
- 9 and the Brothers of the Christian Schools; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Driscoll won its second straight state
- 11 championship, the team's third since winning the 1991 Class
- 12 3A Championship Title; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Under Coach Tim Racki, the Highlanders dominated
- 14 the title game versus Mt. Carmel at the University of
- 15 Illinois, Memorial Stadium, winning by a final score of 42 to
- 16 0; and
- 17 WHEREAS, With the support of Assistant Coaches Mike
- 18 Burzawa, Dan Cepek, Chip Forestor, Nick Gebhart, Kevin
- 19 Hanrahan, Bob LaMantia, Mike Loconsole, Brandon New, Joe
- 20 Petro, Jon Pullia, Bob Crowe, Shawn Nykaza, and Oliver
- 21 Romero, Driscoll was victorious for the second straight year,
- 22 reclaiming the state championship; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Ending the season with a 13-1 record, the
- 24 Highlanders tied for the Suburban Catholic Conference title;
- 25 and
- 26 WHEREAS, Principal Stephen Marth and Athletic Director
- 27 Robert Carlson have worked hard to continue the winning
- 28 tradition of the athletic program at Driscoll Catholic High
- 29 School; and
- 30 WHEREAS, Campus Minister Loraine Parker guided the team

- 1 spiritually throughout the season; and
- WHEREAS, Quiet heroes such as seniors Matt Mahaney, the
- 3 all-state quarterback, and Jason Schulz, an honorable mention
- 4 all-state pick linebacker, led the team on the field; and
- 5 WHEREAS, We offer our congratulations to graduating
- 6 seniors Brian Burja, Drew deLutio, John Gaspari, Nick
- 7 Gorogianis, David Grezenko, Tom Hohenzy, Tim Imbordino, Sam
- 8 Koerner, Tom Maday, Matt Mahaney, and Jason Schulz who guided
- 9 their team to victory; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The offensive team included Danny Cwik, Steve
- 11 Tenorio, Billy Morris, Greg Turner, and Anthony Gebhart; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Completing the Highlander defense were Luke
- 13 Mroz, James Tranchitella, Mike Batts, and Matt Kish; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Returning kicker Rick Albreski converted all
- 15 four extra point attempts to secure what Coach Racki called a
- 16 perfect game; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The Driscoll football team also included John
- 18 Tranchitella, Nick LaMantia, Dustin Miller, Tom Redlin,
- 19 Dominic Senese, Shane Franken, Jacob Mock, Kyle Jenkins,
- 20 Louis Amezquita, Joe Laraia, Ryan Lesniak, Mike Sramek, Mike
- 21 DiLeo, Joe Senese, Justin Nudo, Mike Conti, Mike Segretti,
- 22 Ryan Meyer, Joe Stapelton, Frank Gonzalez, Adam Glenn, Frank
- 23 Tenuto, Chris Morales, Eric Caldwell, Ryan Hayden, Josh
- 24 Weldon, Ryan Maritote, Tony Speer, Mike Gallichio, Nathan
- 25 Miller, Frank Roppo, Jeff Turner, Tom Wagner, Paul Gange, Tom
- 26 Robinson, Donny Grieco, David Flott, Matt Troutman, Ian
- 27 Faunt, Joe Taylor, Joe Saverino, Patrick Phillips, Danny
- Oliverio, Francesco Adamo, and Dan Jarach; and
- 29 WHEREAS, The team could not have accomplished so much
- 30 success without the assistance of Trainer Oliver Ramino,
- 31 Statistician Bob Crowe, and President of Football Operations

- 1 Ken Mahaney; and
- WHEREAS, We recognize the accomplishment of these young
- 3 athletes and their coaches; therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 5 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 6 we do hereby offer our congratulations to Coach Tim Racki and
- 7 the members of the Driscoll Catholic High School Football
- 8 Team on winning the Class 4A State Championship Title; and be
- 9 it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 11 presented to Coach Tim Racki, Driscoll Catholic High School,
- 12 and the Highlander Team Members.