LRB9217073BHbh

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are proud to congratulate the Leo High School 4 track and field team for their outstanding season and 1st 5 place finish at the 2002 IHSA Class A State Finals; and

6 WHEREAS, Leo High School in Chicago was opened in 1926 7 and named after Pope Leo XIII; the president of Leo High 8 School is Robert Foster and the principal is Peter Doyle; and

9 WHEREAS, Leo High School finished the State Finals with 10 an amazing 85 points, 39 points ahead of 2nd place 11 Harrisburg; team member Ryan Shields finished 1st in the 100 12 meter, 200 meter, and 400 meter sprints for his 3rd straight 13 year; relay teams also earned 1st place finishes in the 4x100 14 meters relay and the 4x200 meters relay; and

15 WHEREAS, The track and field team had an outstanding 16 season in 2002 with 1st place finishes at the Downers Grove 17 Invite, the Thornridge Invite, the Springfield Lanphier 18 Invite, the Champaign Centennial Invite, the Chicago Catholic 19 League Outdoor Varsity Conference, and the IHSA Class A State 20 Finals; and

21 WHEREAS, The Leo High School track and field team is 22 managed by Gary Fields and Michael Robinson; the coaches are 23 Edward Adams, Bob Garrett, Brother John O'Keefe, Ed 24 McAllister, Quincy Mills, and Robert Thorns; and

The track and field team consists of 25 WHEREAS, 46 26 excellent athletes, including Chris Allen, Jr., Marcus 27 Anderson, Chris Apata, Cedric Bailey, Stephen Benjamin, Leonard Boyd, Daniel Bronson, Cortez Brown, Mario Bullock, 28 29 Donte Cummings, George Daniel, Roshad Davis, Michael Douglas, Chris Easley, Marcus Fenner, Gary Fields, Jason Hall, John 30 Hardy, Duane Hazzard, Whitney Holley, Akeem Hunter, Steven 31

1 Jones, Asante Manning, Patrick McClendon, Dejhan Means, 2 Nelson Miller, Marcel Morgan, Justin Morris, Lonnie Newman, Curshawn Pullen, Demarcus Purham, Winslow Purham, James 3 4 Rallings, Michael Robinson, Parris Rogers, Ryan Shields, 5 Anthony Stevens, Antwome Topps, Christopher Tyler, Ahmed 6 Watson, Gilbert White, Charles Williams, Elbert Williams, 7 Jimmy Williams, Curtis Wilson, and Michael Wims; therefore, be it 8

9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 10 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 11 we congratulate the Leo High School track and field team for 12 their outstanding season and for their 1st place finish at 13 the 2002 IHSA Class A State Finals; and be it further

14 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 15 presented to the Leo High School track and field team as an 16 expression of our esteem.

-2-