92_HR0371 LRB9208966ACcd

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of

- 3 Illinois is proud to recognize events of importance in the
- 4 State of Illinois; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Optimist Club of Deerfield, a civic and
- 6 youth minded service club, consists of men and women who
- 7 represent a cross section of business, social, and cultural
- 8 life in the Deerfield area; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Each spring, the Optimist Club honors over 100
- 10 junior high and high school students who are selected by
- 11 their teachers, counselors, or clergy for their
- 12 accomplishments as volunteers to their school, community, or
- 13 faith; this year's Youth Appreciation ceremony took place
- 14 Tuesday, May 8, 2001; and
- WHEREAS, Students of Alan B. Shepard Middle School who
- 16 were selected by Jay Monier to be honored were Val Agnew,
- 17 Ellen Beard, Laura Bernfield, Allie Bernstein, Emily
- 18 Birnberg, Taylor Brickman, Amy Bromberg, Jessica Butcher,
- 19 Charlene Chan, Jessie Cole, Natalie Dawe, Michelle Dubin,
- 20 Ashley Elliott, Zachary Ellman, Deena Fierstein, Samantha
- 21 Ford, Jamie Furst, Natalie Garramone, Tori Green, Emily
- 22 Gurner, Whitney Gurner, Jillian Harvey, Sarah Healy, Lauren
- 23 Hoff, Michael Hoffman, Christine Hooyman, Annie Jacobson,
- 24 Danuek Joseph, Ethan Kaplan, Jon Kessler, Tory Leonard, Matt
- Letten, Kacey Levine, Jay Meldman, Jordan Mellovitz, James
- Milin, Tim Minkov, Robin Mordini, Katie Morgan, Rachel Moyer,
- 27 Kyle Nelson, Cate O'Shea, Adam Palay, Harry Papadakis, Sarah
- 28 Patchell, Amanda Robinson, Daniel Rock, Katie Rosen, Suzy
- 29 Ryu, Michael Sager, Greg Schechter, Elizabeth Schmidt, Lauren
- 30 Schmidt, Caroline Schwartz, Jason Shapiro, Melissa Sherman,
- 31 Danny Sider, Amanda Simon, Dana Small, Drew Solow, Simona
- 32 Stankeviciute, Emily Stanton, Michael Stonacek, Lisa

- 1 Weitzman, Scott Wolf, Emmy Yura, Melissa Zimmerman, and Matt
- 2 Zweig; and

14

22

2.3

- 3 WHEREAS, Students of Caruso Middle School who were
- 4 selected by Dr. William Ristow to be honored were Kathy
- 5 Adamczyk, Adrianne Ames, William Anderson, Jamie Blau, Tom
- 6 Brengel, Sam Carmell, Courtney Dayno, Megan Dayno, Melissa
- 7 EngelKing, Elana Fisher, Emma Kornfeld, AlyKhan Meherally,
- 8 Jenny Meisinger, Elena Montalvo, Jennifer Noerper, Michelle
- 9 Piacenza, Jenny Rebacz, Ellie Reed, and Taylor Somach; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Members of the Christ United Methodist Church
- 11 who were selected by Reverend Jamie Hanna Williams to be
- 12 honored were Rachel Howard and Kate Johnstone; those selected
- 13 to be honored by Tom Roth of the Deerfield Area Historical

Society were Katie Roth, Bill Roth, and Brandon Sell; and

- 15 WHEREAS, Deerfield High School students who were selected
- 16 by Patrick Moorhead to be honored for community service were
- Jillian Allenberg, Heidi Bredemeier, Jeanine Capitani, Doug
- 18 Feldman, Jessica Goldsmith, Carly Green, Rachel Greene, Janna
- 19 Hoffman, Bridgette Jung, Nancy Keene, Katie Kollar, Gabrielle
- 20 Lensch, George Logothetis, Elise Olson, Emily Schwarzwald,
- 21 and Jeremy Silver; Deerfield High School students Matthew

Davidson and Rachel Greene were selected by Ellen Grindel to

be honored, Matthew for his work with the R.E.A.C.H. program

- 24 and Rachel for her work with Snowball; Deerfield High School
- 25 students Nina Danilova, Eileen Friend, and Danny Jourdan were
- 26 selected by Carrie Benito and Mary Jo Lynch to be honored for
- 27 their work with Student Outreach Services; Deerfield High
- 28 School students who were selected by Heather McKenna to be
- 29 honored for their student activities were Lorene Anderson,
- 30 Karin Hammerberg, Colleen Jackson, Melissa Lipshutz, and
- 31 Lindsey Salon; and
- 32 WHEREAS, Ian McCowan, Patrick Wagner, and Jerry Zachar of

- 1 the Deerfield Police Department selected Kathy Adamczyk,
- 2 Elizabeth Albert, Adrianne Ames, William Anderson, Laura
- 3 Barhydt, Tom Brengel, Melissa Brownstein, Adam Burmeister,
- 4 John Burmeister, Jessica Butcher, Sam Carmell, Jessica Cole,
- 5 Courtney Dayno, Megan Dayno, Dayon Denic, Michelle Dubin,
- 6 Ashley Elliot, Melissa EngelKing, Elana Fisher, Samantha
- 7 Ford, Amy Goldstein, Josh Keidan, Emma Kornfeld, Jay Meldman,
- 8 Elana Montalvo, Dannie Morten, Michelle Piacenza, Jenny
- 9 Rebacz, Rachel Rubens, Elizabeth Schmidt, Lauren Schmidt,
- 10 Jimmy Seaburg, Elon Sharton-Bierig, Taylor Somach, Simona
- 11 Stankeviciute, Emily Stanton, Kirby Wells, and Jeremy Zager
- 12 to be honored; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Ashley Lapin was selected to be honored by Jack
- 14 Hicks of the Deerfield Public Library; Nick Gill, Colleen
- Jackson, and Emily Schwartzwald were selected to be honored
- by Judy Geuder of the Octagon Club of Deerfield; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Members of the First Presbyterian Church
- 18 selected to be honored by Thom Cunningham and Barbara Beard
- 19 were Nicholas Beard, Nicole Brown, Jeanine Capitani, Jeffrey
- 20 Carlston, Erik Carrier, Courtney Carroll, Katherine Coen,
- 21 Emily Dahl, Zachary Herrmann, Adam Hutsell, William Kirchner,
- 22 Jessica Larson, Melissa Mineau, Kathryn Nollin, Christine
- Oyama, Mihaela Popescu, Troy Showerman, David Stopps, Nathan
- 24 Stopps, and Emily Wiscomb; and
- WHEREAS, Holy Cross School students selected by Lorraine
- 26 Gawlik to be honored were James Beringer, Jennifer Chaput,
- 27 Kathleen Cibon, Dayon Denic, Steven Devcich, Michael Eckert,
- 28 Gina Fiocchi, Kevin Kelly, James Melton, Andrea Nevoral,
- 29 Thomas O'Bryan, Sonia Piacenza, Jimmy Seaburg, Ella Stone,
- 30 Caryn Wheeler; and
- 31 WHEREAS, Members of the Holy Cross Youth Ministry
- 32 selected by Mary Ann Salemi and Kathleen Gunther to be

- 1 honored were Amy Babington, Sean Babington, Drew Bradford,
- 2 Tracy Chaput, Carrie Cunniff, Laura Cunniff, Emily Dempsey,
- 3 Erin Doherty, Jenny Eck, John Garvey, Molly Garvey, Andy
- 4 Georgevich, Tommy Greco, Bill Hehemann, Jaime Krakowski,
- 5 Christopher Larsen, Shannon McGuire, Dan Murray, and Katy
- 6 Walsh; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Members of St. Gregory's Episcopal Church
- 8 selected by Yvonne Masurat to be honored were Philippa
- 9 Ainsley, Kristy Ballard, Bonnie Balmos, Kristin Baluta, Bryan
- 10 Cate, Jennifer Cate, Elizabeth Cook, Courtney Coseo, Allison
- 11 Cully, Jamie Furst, Carrie Graham, Jennifer Hays, Brittany
- 12 Lees, Katie Lees, Kristin Lindberg, Craig Millspaugh, Kerry
- Molloy, Alison Nichols, Erin Ober, Mark Ober, Michael Ober,
- 14 Jaine Peterson, Chris Pontecore, Laura Pontecore, James
- 15 Roberts, Katharine Ruestow, Sanjiv Sinnaduray, Ellen Smith,
- Greg Smith, Don Swager, and Jonathon Welker; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Members of Temple Beth-El selected by Alyssa C.
- 18 Zuchman to be honored were Cortney Blitz, Amy Carmell, Jamie
- 19 Marcus, Aron Rosenthal, and Carly Shoenstadt; therefore, be
- 20 it
- 21 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 22 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 23 we congratulate the many honorees recognized at the Youth
- 24 Appreciation ceremony hosted by the Optimist Club of
- 25 Deerfield and commend the Optimist Club of Deerfield for
- 26 recognizing the youth of Deerfield for their volunteer work
- 27 at school, in the community, or in their faith; and be it
- 28 further
- 29 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- delivered to the Optimist Club of Deerfield.