92_HR0020 LRB922957RHrh

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of
- 3 Representatives are pleased to honor milestones in high
- 4 school sports in the State of Illinois; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Maine South Football Team, the Hawks,
- 6 recently won the IHSA Class 6A State Football Championship
- 7 held November 25, 2000 at Memorial Stadium at the University
- 8 of Illinois, Champaign, Illinois; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Maine South used a potent offensive attack
- 10 combined with a smothering defense to capture an impressive
- 11 27-8 triumph over the Glenbard North Panthers and the second
- 12 state crown for the Park Ridge high school; and
- 13 WHEREAS, It was the perfect going-away present for coach
- 14 Phil Hopkins, who retires at the end of the school year after
- 15 coaching Maine South for a remarkable 21 years; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Hawks team consists of Shawn Kain, Kevin
- 17 Sherlock, Corey Norman, Tony Traynor, Joe Sergo, Mark Ori,
- 18 Jim Magiera, Jeremy Arbuthnot, Joe Madden, Dave Olson, Pat
- 19 Stritzel, Blake Fiorito, Chris Ratajczyk, Ken Triptow, Jeff
- 20 Kuempel, Jason Derec, Anthony Schittino, Chris Fosco, Jim
- 21 Bannos, Ryan Muehlfelder, Erek Benz, Tony Fourkas, Rob
- 22 Kiepura, Mike, Psaltis, Tony Wnek, Rob Kiepura, John Chaput,
- 23 Bill Truty, Mark Annes, Matt Recsetar, Josh Gelula, Jason
- 24 Clark, Brian Kura, Mike Tedeschi, Ryan Prendergast, Matt
- 25 Boyle, Jim Libby, Dominick Lupo, Bryan Sypien, Eli Galayda,
- 26 Giovanni Portogallo, Jim Hauser, Joe Marchionna, Dan Raysby,
- 27 Tom Cabaj, Joe Sieczkowski, Brendan Clifford, Dave Gillespie,
- 28 Ethan Tone, Rafal Kopycinski, Elliott Goss, Brian Coffey,
- 29 Brian Johnson, Derek Brenner, Mike Raap, Tim Celio, Andy
- 30 Annunzio, Kevin Fee, Chris Suba, Dan Bush, Vince Natali, Dan
- 31 Miller, Mike Denk, Mike Zande, Bob Sanchez, Scott Kennedy,
- 32 A.J. Le Beau, Gregg Kane, Joe Janik, Brendan Cameron, Pat

- 1 Maloney, Scott Lesko, Neal Sherlock, and Mike Vourvoulias;
- the coaches of the Hawks include, Phil Hopkins, Dave Inserra,
- 3 Carl Magsamen, Rick Magsamen and Jim Mazzocchi; the team
- 4 ended the season with 13 wins and 1 loss; therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 6 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 7 we congratulate Maine South's Football Team on winning the
- 8 IHSA Class 6A State Football Championship; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 10 presented to the principal of Maine South High School, Dr.
- 11 Thomas Cachur, the coach of Maine South's championship team,
- 12 Phillip Hopkins; assistant coaches David Inserra, Carl
- 13 Magsamen, Rick Magsamen and Jim Mazzocchi; and the entire
- 14 Maine South football team as an expression of our esteem.