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 1        AN ACT in relation to vehicles.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 4-214 as follows:

 6        (625 ILCS 5/4-214) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-214)

 7        Sec. 4-214.  Violations of Section 4-201.

 8        (a)  Any  person  who violates Section 4-201 of this Code

 9    or who aids and abets in that violation:

10             (1)  shall be subject to a mandatory fine  of  $200;

11        and          ---

12             (2)  shall  be  required  by  the  court  to  make a

13        disposition on the abandoned or unclaimed vehicle and pay

14        all  towing,  storage,   and   processing   charges   and

15        collection  costs  pursuant to Section 4-203, subsections

16        (a) and (e); and.                     _____                          -

17             (3)  may not be eligible  to  transfer  his  or  her               ____________________________________________________

18        registration  to  another  vehicle,  or  to  newly obtain          _________________________________________________________

19        registration for another  vehicle,  until  the  fine  and          _________________________________________________________

20        costs  payable  under  paragraphs  (1)  and  (2)  of this          _________________________________________________________

21        subsection (a) have been paid.          ______________________________

22        (b)  When a vehicle is abandoned, it  shall  be  presumed

23    that  the  last  registered  owner  is  responsible  for  the

24    abandonment  and shall be liable for all towing, storage, and

25    processing charges and collection  costs,  less  any  amounts

26    realized in the disposal of the vehicle.  The last registered

27    owner's  liability  for storage fees may not exceed a maximum

28    of 30 days' storage fees.

29        The presumption established under this subsection may  be

30    rebutted by a showing that, prior to the time of the tow:

31             (1)  a  report  of  vehicle  theft  was  filed  with
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 1        respect to the vehicle; or

 2             (2)  the  vehicle  was  sold  or transferred and the

 3        last registered owner provides the  towing  service  with

 4        the  correct identity and address of the new owner at the

 5        time of the sale or transfer.

 6        If the presumption established under this  subsection  is

 7    rebutted,  the person responsible for theft of the vehicle or

 8    to whom the vehicle was sold or transferred is liable for all

 9    towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs.

10        (c)  A person in possession of an abandoned  vehicle  may          _________________________________________________________

11    notify the last registered owner of the vehicle that:      _____________________________________________________

12             (1)  The  registered  owner may not be authorized to               ____________________________________________________

13        transfer his or her registration to  another  vehicle  or          _________________________________________________________

14        newly  obtain  registration for another vehicle until the          _________________________________________________________

15        fine and costs payable under paragraphs (1)  and  (2)  of          _________________________________________________________

16        subsection (a) have been paid.          ______________________________

17             (2)  The  registered owner may sign the vehicle over               ____________________________________________________

18        to the person in possession if the  registered  owner  no          _________________________________________________________

19        longer wishes to retain the vehicle.          ____________________________________

20    (Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)
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