7

22

23

27

28

- 1 AN ACT in relation to vehicles.
- it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 2
- 3 represented in the General Assembly:
- 4 Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
- changing Sections 13-103, 13-106, and 13-114 as follows: 5
- 6 (625 ILCS 5/13-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-103)
- Sec. 13-103. Official testing stations Fee Permit -8 Bond. Upon the payment of a fee of \$10 and the filing of an application by the proprietor of any vehicle service station 9 or public or private garage upon forms furnished by the 10 Department, accompanied by proof of experience, training and 11 ability of the operator of the testing equipment, 12 13 with proof of installation of approved testing equipment as defined in Section 13-102 and the giving of 14 15 conditioned upon faithful observance of this Section and of
- rules and regulations issued by the Department in the amount 16 of \$1,000 with security approved by the Department, the 17
- 18 Department shall issue a permit to the proprietor of that
- 19 such vehicle service station or garage to operate an Official
- 20 Testing Station. Such permit shall expire 12 months following
- its issuance, but may be renewed annually by complying with 21

the requirements set forth in this Section and upon the

following issuance of such permits, by complying with the

- payment of a renewal fee of \$10. Proprietors of official
- testing stations for which permits have been issued prior to 24
- the effective date of this Act may renew such permits for the 25
- renewal fee of \$10 on the expiration of each 12 months 26
- requirements set forth in this Section. However, any city,
- 29 village or incorporated town shall upon application to the
- Department and without payment of any fee or filing of any 30
- bond, but upon proof of experience, training and ability of 31

- 1 the operator of the testing equipment, and proof of the
- 2 installation of approved testing equipment as defined in
- 3 Section 13-102, be issued a permit to operate such testing
- 4 station as an Official Testing Station under this Act. The
- 5 permit so issued shall at all times be displayed in a
- 6 prominent place in the vehicle service station, garage or
- 7 municipal testing station which is licensed as an Official
- 8 Testing Station under this Act. No person or vehicle service
- 9 station, garage or municipal testing station shall in any
- 10 manner claim or represent himself or itself to be an official
- 11 testing station unless a permit has been issued to him or it
- 12 as provided in this Section.
- 13 Any person or municipality who or which has received a
- 14 permit under this Section may test his or its own second
- 15 division vehicles and issue certificates of safety and
- 16 conduct emission inspections of his or its own second
- 17 division vehicles in accordance with the requirements of
- 18 Section 13-109.1 with respect to any such second division
- vehicles owned, operated or controlled by him or it.
- 20 Each such permit issued by the Department shall state on
- 21 its face the location of the official testing station to be
- operated under the permit and safety tests shall be made only
- 23 at such location. However, the Department may, upon
- 24 application, authorize a change in the location of the
- 25 official testing station and the removal of the testing
- 26 equipment to the new location. Upon approval of such
- 27 application, the Department shall issue an endorsement which
- 28 the applicant shall affix to his permit. Such endorsement
- 29 constitutes authority for the applicant to make such change
- 30 in location and to remove his testing equipment at the times
- 31 and to the places stated in the endorsement.
- 32 (Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)

1 13-106. Rates and charges by official testing 2 stations-Schedule to be filed. Every operator of an official testing station shall file with the Department, in the manner 3 4 prescribed by the Department, a schedule of all rates and 5 charges made by him for performing the tests provided for in б Section 13-101 and Section 13-109.1. The Such rate or 7 charge shall include an amount to reimburse the operator of 8 the official testing station for the purchase from 9 Department of the certificate of safety required by this chapter, not to exceed that fee paid to the Department by the 10 11 operator authorized by this chapter. Such rates and charges shall be just and reasonable and the Department upon its own 12 initiative or upon complaint of any person or corporation may 13 require the testing station operator to appear for a hearing 14 and prove that the rates so filed are just and reasonable. 15 16 "just and reasonable" rate or charge, for the purposes of this Section, means a rate or charge which is the same, 17 nearly the same, as the prevailing rate or charge for the 18 19 same or similar tests made in the community where the station is located. No operator may change this schedule of rates 20 2.1 and charges until the proposed changes are filed with and 22 approved by the Department. No license may be issued to any 23 official testing station unless the applicant has filed with the Department a proposed schedule of rates and charges and 24 25 unless such rates and charges have been approved by the Department. No operator of an official testing station shall 26 charge more or less than the rates so filed with and approved 27 by the Department. 28

29 (Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)

30 (625 ILCS 5/13-114) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-114)

31 Sec. 13-114. Interstate carriers of property. Any 32 vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by an interstate 33 carrier of property shall be exempt from the provisions of

- 1 this Chapter if the provided-such carrier has registered with
- 2 the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway
- 3 Administration as an interstate motor carrier of property and
- 4 has been assigned a federal census number by such Bureau. An
- 5 interstate carrier of property, however, is not exempt from
- 6 the provisions of Section 13-111(b) of this Chapter.
- 7 Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by a
- 8 private interstate carrier of property shall be exempt from
- 9 the provisions of this Chapter, except the provisions of
- 10 Section 13-111(b), provided it:
- 1. is registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier
- 12 Safety of the Federal Highway Administration, and
- 2. carries in the motor vehicle documentation
- issued by the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the
- 15 Federal Highway Administration displaying the federal
- 16 census number assigned, and
- 3. displays on the sides of the motor vehicle the
- census number, which must be no less than 2 inches high,
- 19 with a brush stroke no less than 1/4 inch wide in a
- 20 contrasting color.
- 21 Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section, each
- 22 diesel powered vehicle that is registered for a gross weight
- of more than 16,000 pounds or has a gross vehicle weight
- 24 rating of more than 16,000 pounds and that is operated by an
- 25 interstate carrier of property or a private interstate
- 26 carrier of property within the affected area is subject only
- 27 to the provisions of this Chapter that pertain to
- 28 nonscheduled diesel emission inspections.
- 29 (Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00; 91-865, eff. 7-1-00.)