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 1        AN ACT in relation to children.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The Abused and Neglected Child Reporting  Act

 5    is amended by changing Section 3 as follows:

 6        (325 ILCS 5/3) (from Ch. 23, par. 2053)

 7        Sec. 3.  As used in this Act unless the context otherwise

 8    requires:

 9        "Child"  means  any  person  under  the  age of 18 years,

10    unless legally emancipated by reason  of  marriage  or  entry

11    into a branch of the United States armed services.

12        "Department"  means  Department  of  Children  and Family

13    Services.

14        "Local law enforcement agency"  means  the  police  of  a

15    city, town, village or other incorporated area or the sheriff

16    of  an  unincorporated  area  or  any  sworn  officer  of the

17    Illinois Department of State Police.

18        "Abused child" means a child whose  parent  or  immediate

19    family  member,  or  any  person  responsible for the child's

20    welfare,  or any individual residing in the same home as  the

21    child, or a paramour of the child's parent:

22             a.  inflicts,  causes  to be inflicted, or allows to

23        be inflicted upon such child physical  injury,  by  other

24        than accidental means, which causes death, disfigurement,

25        impairment  of  physical  or emotional health, or loss or

26        impairment of any bodily function;

27             b.  creates a substantial risk of physical injury to

28        such child by other than accidental means which would  be

29        likely  to  cause  death,  disfigurement,  impairment  of

30        physical  or  emotional  health, or loss or impairment of

31        any bodily function;
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 1             c.  commits  or  allows  to  be  committed  any  sex

 2        offense against such child,  as  such  sex  offenses  are

 3        defined  in  the  Criminal  Code of 1961, as amended, and

 4        extending those definitions of sex  offenses  to  include

 5        children under 18 years of age;

 6             d.  commits or allows to be committed an act or acts

 7        of torture upon such child;

 8             e.  inflicts excessive corporal punishment;

 9             f.  commits or allows to be committed the offense of

10        female genital mutilation, as defined in Section 12-34 of

11        the Criminal Code of 1961, against the child; or

12             g.  causes  to be sold, transferred, distributed, or

13        given to such child under 18 years of age,  a  controlled

14        substance  as  defined  in  Section  102  of the Illinois

15        Controlled  Substances Act in violation of Article IV  of

16        the   Illinois  Controlled  Substances  Act,  except  for

17        controlled substances that are prescribed  in  accordance

18        with  Article  III  of the Illinois Controlled Substances

19        Act and are dispensed to such  child  in  a  manner  that

20        substantially complies with the prescription.

21        "Neglected  child"  means  any child who is not receiving

22    the proper or necessary nourishment  or  medically  indicated

23    treatment  including  food or care not provided solely on the

24    basis of  the  present  or  anticipated  mental  or  physical

25    impairment  as  determined  by a physician acting alone or in

26    consultation  with  other  physicians  or  otherwise  is  not

27    receiving the proper or necessary support or medical or other

28    remedial care recognized under State law as necessary  for  a

29    child's  well-being,  or  other care necessary for his or her

30    well-being, including adequate food, clothing and shelter; or

31    who is abandoned by  his  or  her  parents  or  other  person

32    responsible  for the child's welfare without a proper plan of

33    care;  or  who  has  been  provided   with   interim   crisis             ______________________________________________________

34    intervention services under Section 3-5 of the Juvenile Court      _____________________________________________________________
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 1    Act  of 1987, whose parent, guardian, or custodian refuses to      _____________________________________________________________

 2    permit the child to return home, and for whom no other living      _____________________________________________________________

 3    arrangement agreeable to the child and the parent,  guardian,      _____________________________________________________________

 4    or  custodian  can  be made; or who is a newborn infant whose      ____________________________

 5    blood, urine, or meconium contains any amount of a controlled

 6    substance as defined in subsection (f) of Section 102 of  the

 7    Illinois  Controlled  Substances Act or a metabolite thereof,

 8    with the exception of a controlled  substance  or  metabolite

 9    thereof whose presence in the newborn infant is the result of

10    medical  treatment  administered to the mother or the newborn

11    infant. A child shall not be  considered  neglected  for  the

12    sole   reason   that  the  child's  parent  or  other  person

13    responsible for his or her welfare has left the child in  the

14    care  of  an  adult  relative for any period of time. A child

15    shall not be considered neglected  or  abused  for  the  sole

16    reason  that  such child's parent or other person responsible

17    for his or her welfare depends upon spiritual  means  through

18    prayer alone for the treatment or cure of disease or remedial

19    care  as provided under Section 4 of this Act.  A child shall

20    not be considered neglected  or  abused  solely  because  the

21    child   is  not  attending  school  in  accordance  with  the

22    requirements of Article 26 of The School Code, as amended.

23        "Child Protective Service Unit" means certain specialized

24    State employees of the Department assigned by the Director to

25    perform the duties and  responsibilities  as  provided  under

26    Section 7.2 of this Act.

27        "Person  responsible  for  the child's welfare" means the

28    child's parent; guardian; foster parent; relative  caregiver;

29    any person responsible for the child's welfare in a public or

30    private   residential   agency  or  institution;  any  person

31    responsible for  the  child's  welfare  within  a  public  or

32    private  profit or not for profit child care facility; or any

33    other person responsible for the child's welfare at the  time

34    of  the  alleged  abuse or neglect, or any person who came to
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 1    know the child through an official capacity  or  position  of

 2    trust,   including   but   not   limited   to   health   care

 3    professionals,     educational     personnel,    recreational

 4    supervisors, and  volunteers  or  support  personnel  in  any

 5    setting where children may be subject to abuse or neglect.

 6        "Temporary  protective  custody"  means  custody within a

 7    hospital or other medical  facility  or  a  place  previously

 8    designated  for  such  custody  by the Department, subject to

 9    review by the Court, including a licensed foster home,  group

10    home,  or  other  institution;  but such place shall not be a

11    jail or other place for the detention of criminal or juvenile

12    offenders.

13        "An unfounded report" means any report  made  under  this

14    Act for which it is determined after an investigation that no

15    credible evidence of abuse or neglect exists.

16        "An  indicated report" means a report made under this Act

17    if an investigation determines that credible evidence of  the

18    alleged abuse or neglect exists.

19        "An undetermined report" means any report made under this

20    Act  in  which it was not possible to initiate or complete an

21    investigation on the basis of  information  provided  to  the

22    Department.

23        "Subject  of  report"  means  any  child  reported to the

24    central register of child abuse and neglect established under

25    Section 7.7 of this Act and his or her  parent,  guardian  or

26    other person responsible who is also named in the report.

27        "Perpetrator"   means  a  person  who,  as  a  result  of

28    investigation, has been determined by the Department to  have

29    caused child abuse or neglect.

30    (Source:  P.A.  90-239,  eff.  7-28-97; 90-684, eff. 7-31-98;

31    91-802, eff. 1-1-01.)

32        Section 10.  The Juvenile Court Act of 1987 is amended by

33    changing Sections 2-3 and 3-5 as follows:
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 1        (705 ILCS 405/2-3) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-3)

 2        Sec. 2-3.  Neglected or abused minor.

 3        (1)  Those who are neglected include:

 4             (a)  any minor under 18 years  of  age  who  is  not

 5        receiving  the  proper or necessary support, education as

 6        required by  law,  or  medical  or  other  remedial  care

 7        recognized  under  State  law  as necessary for a minor's

 8        well-being, or  other  care  necessary  for  his  or  her

 9        well-being,   including   adequate   food,  clothing  and

10        shelter, or who is abandoned by his  or  her  parents  or

11        other  person responsible for the minor's welfare, except

12        that a minor shall not be considered  neglected  for  the

13        sole  reason  that  the  minor's  parent  or other person

14        responsible for the minor's welfare has left the minor in

15        the care of an adult relative for any period of time; or

16             (b)  any  minor  under  18  years   of   age   whose

17        environment is injurious to his or her welfare; or

18             (c)  any  newborn  infant  whose  blood,  urine,  or

19        meconium contains any amount of a controlled substance as

20        defined  in subsection (f) of Section 102 of the Illinois

21        Controlled Substances Act, as now or  hereafter  amended,

22        or  a  metabolite  of  a  controlled  substance, with the

23        exception of controlled substances or metabolites of such

24        substances, the presence of which in the  newborn  infant

25        is  the  result  of medical treatment administered to the

26        mother or the newborn infant; or

27             (d)  any minor under  the  age  of  14  years  whose

28        parent  or  other  person  responsible  for  the  minor's

29        welfare  leaves  the  minor  without  supervision  for an

30        unreasonable period of time without regard for the mental

31        or physical health, safety, or welfare of that minor; or.                                                              ____                                                                  -

32             (e)  any minor who has been  provided  with  interim               ____________________________________________________

33        crisis  intervention  services  under Section 3-5 of this          _________________________________________________________

34        Act, whose parent,  guardian,  or  custodian  refuses  to          _________________________________________________________
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 1        permit  the  minor  to return home, and for whom no other          _________________________________________________________

 2        living arrangement agreeable to the minor and the parent,          _________________________________________________________

 3        guardian, or custodian can be made.          ___________________________________

 4        Whether the minor was left without regard for the  mental

 5    or  physical  health, safety, or welfare of that minor or the

 6    period of  time  was  unreasonable  shall  be  determined  by

 7    considering  the following factors, including but not limited

 8    to:

 9             (1)  the age of the minor;

10             (2)  the number of minors left at the location;

11             (3)  special needs of the minor,  including  whether

12        the  minor  is  physically  or  mentally  handicapped, or

13        otherwise in need of ongoing prescribed medical treatment

14        such as periodic doses of insulin or other medications;

15             (4)  the duration of time in  which  the  minor  was

16        left without supervision;

17             (5)  the  condition  and location of the place where

18        the minor was left without supervision;

19             (6)  the time of day or night  when  the  minor  was

20        left without supervision;

21             (7)  the  weather  conditions, including whether the

22        minor was left in a  location  with  adequate  protection

23        from the natural elements such as adequate heat or light;

24             (8)  the  location  of the parent or guardian at the

25        time the minor was left without supervision, the physical

26        distance the minor was from the parent or guardian at the

27        time the minor was without supervision;

28             (9)  whether the minor's movement was restricted, or

29        the minor was otherwise locked within  a  room  or  other

30        structure;

31             (10)  whether  the minor was given a phone number of

32        a person or location to call in the event of an emergency

33        and whether the minor was capable of making an  emergency

34        call;
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 1             (11)  whether  there  was  food  and other provision

 2        left for the minor;

 3             (12)  whether any of the conduct is attributable  to

 4        economic  hardship or illness and the parent, guardian or

 5        other person having physical custody or  control  of  the

 6        child  made a good faith effort to provide for the health

 7        and safety of the minor;

 8             (13)  the age and physical and  mental  capabilities

 9        of the person or persons who provided supervision for the

10        minor;

11             (14)  whether   the   minor   was   left  under  the

12        supervision of another person;

13             (15)  any  other  factor  that  would  endanger  the

14        health and safety of that particular minor.

15        (2)  Those who are abused  include  any  minor  under  18

16    years  of age whose parent or immediate family member, or any

17    person responsible for the minor's welfare, or any person who

18    is in the same family or  household  as  the  minor,  or  any

19    individual  residing  in  the  same  home  as the minor, or a

20    paramour of the minor's parent:

21             (i)  inflicts, causes to be inflicted, or allows  to

22        be  inflicted  upon  such minor physical injury, by other

23        than accidental means, which causes death, disfigurement,

24        impairment of physical or emotional health,  or  loss  or

25        impairment of any bodily function;

26             (ii)  creates  a substantial risk of physical injury

27        to such minor by other than accidental means which  would

28        be  likely  to  cause death, disfigurement, impairment of

29        emotional health, or loss or  impairment  of  any  bodily

30        function;

31             (iii)  commits  or  allows  to  be committed any sex

32        offense against such minor,  as  such  sex  offenses  are

33        defined  in  the  Criminal  Code of 1961, as amended, and

34        extending those definitions of sex  offenses  to  include
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 1        minors under 18 years of age;

 2             (iv)  commits  or  allows  to be committed an act or

 3        acts of torture upon such minor; or

 4             (v)  inflicts excessive corporal punishment.

 5        (3)  This Section does not apply to a minor who would  be

 6    included  herein  solely  for  the  purpose of qualifying for

 7    financial assistance for himself, his  parents,  guardian  or

 8    custodian.

 9    (Source: P.A. 89-21, eff. 7-1-95; 90-239, eff. 7-28-97.)

10        (705 ILCS 405/3-5) (from Ch. 37, par. 803-5)

11        Sec.  3-5.   Interim  crisis  intervention services.  (a)

12    Any  minor  who  is  taken  into  limited  custody,  or   who

13    independently  requests or is referred for assistance, may be

14    provided  crisis  intervention  services  by  an  agency   or

15    association, as defined in this Act, provided the association

16    or agency staff (i) immediately investigate the circumstances

17    of  the minor and the facts surrounding the minor being taken

18    into  custody  and   promptly   explain   these   facts   and

19    circumstances to the minor, and (ii) make a reasonable effort

20    to  inform  the  minor's parent, guardian or custodian of the

21    fact that the minor has been taken into limited  custody  and

22    where  the  minor  is  being  kept,  and  (iii)  if the minor

23    consents, make a reasonable effort to transport, arrange  for

24    the  transportation of, or otherwise release the minor to the

25    parent, guardian or custodian.  Upon release of the child who

26    is believed to need or benefit from  medical,  psychological,

27    psychiatric or social services, the association or agency may

28    inform the minor and the person to whom the minor is released

29    of the nature and location of appropriate services and shall,

30    if  requested,  assist  in  establishing  contact between the

31    family and other  associations  or  agencies  providing  such

32    services.   If  the  agency  or  association is unable by all

33    reasonable  efforts  to  contact  a   parent,   guardian   or
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 1    custodian,  or  if the person contacted lives an unreasonable

 2    distance away, or if the minor refuses to be taken to his  or

 3    her  home or other appropriate residence, or if the agency or

 4    association  is  otherwise  unable  despite  all   reasonable

 5    efforts  to  make  arrangements  for  the  safe return of the

 6    minor,  the  minor  may  be  taken  to  a  temporary   living

 7    arrangement which is in compliance with the Child Care Act of

 8    1969  or  which  is with persons agreed to by the parents and

 9    the agency or association.

10        (b)  An agency or association is authorized to  permit  a

11    minor  to  be  sheltered  in  a  temporary living arrangement

12    provided the agency seeks to effect the minor's  return  home

13    or alternative living arrangements agreeable to the minor and

14    the parent, guardian or custodian as soon as practicable.  If

15    the parent, guardian or custodian refuses to permit the minor

16    to  return home, and no other living arrangement agreeable to

17    the minor and the parent, guardian, or custodian can be made,

18    the agency may deem the minor to be neglected and report  the                 __________________________________________________

19    neglect  to the Department of Children and Family Services as      _____________________________________________________________

20    provided in the Abused and  Neglected  Child  Reporting  Act.      _____________________________________________________________

21    The  Child  Protective  Service  Unit  of  the  Department of      _____________________________________________________________

22    Children and Family Services shall begin an investigation  of      _____________________________________________________________

23    the  report  within  24  hours after receiving the report and      _____________________________________________________________

24    shall determine whether to  take  the  minor  into  temporary      _____________________________________________________________

25    protective  custody  and  whether  to  shall  file a petition      _____________________________________                                             -----

26    alleging that the minor is neglected or abused  as  described

27    in  Section  2-3  of  this  Act.  In  any case other than one                                        ___________________________

28    described in  the  preceding  sentence,  no  minor  shall  be      _______________________________________

29    sheltered  in a temporary living arrangement for more than 48

30    hours,  excluding  Saturdays,  Sundays  and  court-designated

31    holidays,  without  parental  consent   unless   the   agency

32    documents  its  unsuccessful  efforts  to contact a parent or

33    guardian, including recording the date  and  time  and  staff

34    involved  in  all  telephone  calls,  telegrams, letters, and
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 1    personal contacts to obtain  the  consent  or  authority,  in

 2    which case the minor may be so sheltered for not more than 21

 3    days.

 4        (c)  Any agency or association or employee thereof acting

 5    reasonably  and  in  good  faith in the care of a minor being

 6    provided interim crisis  intervention  services  and  shelter

 7    care  shall  be  immune  from any civil or criminal liability

 8    resulting from such care.

 9    (Source: P.A. 85-601.)
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