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 1        AN ACT concerning criminal law.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The Criminal  Code  of  1961  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 36-1 as follows:

 6        (720 ILCS 5/36-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 36-1)

 7        Sec.  36-1.   Seizure.   Any  vessel, vehicle or aircraft

 8    used with the knowledge and  consent  of  the  owner  in  the

 9    commission  of,  or  in  the  attempt to commit as defined in

10    Section 8-4 of  this  Code,  an  offense  prohibited  by  (a)

11    Section  9-1,  9-3,  10-2,  11-6,  11-15.1, 11-19.1, 11-19.2,

12    11-20.1, 12-7.3, 12-7.4,  12-13,  12-14,  18-2,  19-1,  19-2,

13    19-3,  20-1,  20-2, 24-1.2, 24-1.5, or 28-1, 31-5, or 31-7 of                                                 _______________                                          --

14    this Code, or paragraph (a) of Section  12-15  or  paragraphs

15    (a),  (c)  or (d) of Section 12-16 of this Code or paragraphs                                                      _____________

16    (a), (b), (c), or (d) of  Section  31-6  of  this  Code;  (b)      _______________________________________________________

17    Section  21, 22, 23, 24 or 26 of the Cigarette Tax Act if the

18    vessel, vehicle or aircraft contains more than 10 cartons  of

19    such  cigarettes;  (c)  Section 28, 29 or 30 of the Cigarette

20    Use Tax Act if the vessel, vehicle or aircraft contains  more

21    than  10  cartons  of  such cigarettes; (d) Section 44 of the

22    Environmental Protection Act; (e) 11-204.1  of  the  Illinois

23    Vehicle  Code; or (f) the offenses described in the following

24    provisions of  the  Illinois  Vehicle  Code:  Section  11-501

25    subdivisions  (c-1)(1),  (c-1)(2),  (c-1)(3),  (d)(1)(A),  or

26    (d)(1)(D);  may  be  seized  and  delivered  forthwith to the

27    sheriff of the county of seizure.

28        Within 15 days after such delivery the sheriff shall give

29    notice of seizure to each person according to  the  following

30    method:  Upon each such person whose right, title or interest

31    is of record in the office of the  Secretary  of  State,  the
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 1    Secretary of Transportation, the Administrator of the Federal

 2    Aviation  Agency,  or  any other Department of this State, or

 3    any other state of the United States if such vessel,  vehicle

 4    or  aircraft is required to be so registered, as the case may

 5    be, by mailing a copy of the notice by certified mail to  the

 6    address  as given upon the records of the Secretary of State,

 7    the Department of Aeronautics, Department of Public Works and

 8    Buildings or any other Department of this State or the United

 9    States if such vessel, vehicle or aircraft is required to  be

10    so  registered.  Within  that 15 day period the sheriff shall

11    also notify the State's Attorney of  the  county  of  seizure

12    about the seizure.

13        In addition, any mobile or portable equipment used in the

14    commission  of  an act which is in violation of Section 7g of

15    the Metropolitan Water  Reclamation  District  Act  shall  be

16    subject  to  seizure and forfeiture under the same procedures

17    provided in this Article for the seizure  and  forfeiture  of

18    vessels,  vehicles and aircraft, and any such equipment shall

19    be deemed a vessel, vehicle or aircraft for purposes of  this

20    Article.

21        When  a person discharges a firearm at another individual

22    from a vehicle with the knowledge and consent of the owner of

23    the vehicle and with the  intent  to  cause  death  or  great

24    bodily  harm  to that individual and as a result causes death

25    or great bodily harm to that individual, the vehicle shall be

26    subject to seizure and forfeiture under the  same  procedures

27    provided  in  this  Article for the seizure and forfeiture of

28    vehicles used in violations of clauses (a), (b), (c), or  (d)

29    of this Section.

30        If  the  spouse  of  the  owner of a vehicle seized for a

31    violation  of  subdivision  (c-1)(1),   (c-1)(2),   (c-1)(3),

32    (d)(1)(A),  or  (d)(1)(D)  of  Section 11-501 of the Illinois

33    Vehicle Code or Section 9-3 of this Code makes a showing that

34    the seized vehicle is the only source of  transportation  and
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 1    it is determined that the financial hardship to the family as

 2    a  result  of  the seizure outweighs the benefit to the State

 3    from the seizure, the vehicle may be forfeited to the  spouse

 4    or  family  member  and  the  title  to  the vehicle shall be

 5    transferred to the spouse or family member  who  is  properly

 6    licensed  and  who  requires  the  use  of  the  vehicle  for

 7    employment  or  family  transportation  purposes.   A written

 8    declaration of forfeiture of a  vehicle  under  this  Section

 9    shall  be sufficient cause for the title to be transferred to

10    the  spouse  or  family  member.   The  provisions  of   this

11    paragraph shall apply only to one forfeiture per vehicle.  If

12    the  vehicle  is  the  subject  of  a  subsequent  forfeiture

13    proceeding  by  virtue  of  a subsequent conviction of either

14    spouse or the family member, the spouse or family  member  to

15    whom  the  vehicle  was  forfeited under the first forfeiture

16    proceeding may not utilize the provisions of  this  paragraph

17    in  another  forfeiture  proceeding.   If  the  owner  of the

18    vehicle seized owns more than one vehicle, the procedure  set

19    out in this paragraph may be used for only one vehicle.

20        Property  declared  contraband  under  Section  40 of the

21    Illinois Streetgang Terrorism Omnibus Prevention Act  may  be

22    seized and forfeited under this Article.

23    (Source:  P.A.  90-134,  eff.  7-22-97;  90-216, eff. 1-1-98;

24    90-655, eff.  7-30-98;  90-738,  eff.  1-1-99;  91-876,  eff.

25    1-1-01.)

26        Section  99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect upon

27    becoming law.
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