92 HB1743 LRB9207448DHmb

- 1 AN ACT regarding vehicles.
- it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 2
- 3 represented in the General Assembly:
- 4 Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
- changing Section 3-112 as follows: 5
- (625 ILCS 5/3-112) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-112) 6
- Sec. 3-112. Transfer. 7
- 8 (a) If an owner transfers his or her interest in a
- vehicle, other than by the creation of a security interest, 9
- at the time of the delivery of the vehicle he or she shall 10
- execute to the transferee an assignment and warranty of title 11
- in the space provided on the certificate of title, or as the 12
- 13 Secretary of State prescribes, and cause the certificate and
- assignment to be mailed or delivered to the transferee or to 14
- 15 the Secretary of State.

20

21

- 16 If the vehicle is subject to a tax under the Mobile Home
- Local Services Tax Act in a county with a population of less 17
- 18 than 3,000,000, the owner shall also provide to the
- transferee a certification by the treasurer of the county in 19
- vehicle for the years the owner was the actual titleholder of

which the vehicle is situated that all taxes imposed upon the

- 22 the vehicle have been paid. The transferee shall be liable
- only for the taxes he or she incurred while he or she was the 23
- actual titleholder of the mobile home. The county treasurer 24
- shall refund any amount of taxes paid by the transferee that 25
- 26 were imposed in years when the transferee was not the actual
- 27 titleholder. The provisions of this amendatory Act of 1997
- (P.A. 90-542) apply retroactively to January 1, 1996. 28
- 29 event may the county treasurer refund amounts paid by the
- transferee during any year except the 10 years immediately 30
- preceding the year in which the refund is made. If the owner 31

- 1 is a licensed dealer who has purchased the vehicle and is
- 2 holding it for resale, in lieu of acquiring a certification
- 3 from the county treasurer he shall forward the certification
- 4 received from the previous owner to the next buyer of the
- 5 vehicle. The owner shall cause the certification to be
- 6 mailed or delivered to the Secretary of State with the
- 7 certificate of title and assignment.
- 8 (b) Except as provided in Section 3-113, the transferee
- 9 shall, promptly and within 20 days after delivery to him of
- 10 the vehicle and the assigned title, execute the application
- 11 for a new certificate of title in the space provided therefor
- on the certificate or as the Secretary of State prescribes,
- 13 and cause the certificate and application to be mailed or
- 14 delivered to the Secretary of State.
- 15 (c) Upon request of the owner or transferee, a
- lienholder in possession of the certificate of title shall,
- 17 unless the transfer was a breach of his security agreement,
- 18 either deliver the certificate to the transferee for delivery
- 19 to the Secretary of State or, upon receipt from the
- 20 transferee of the owner's assignment, the transferee's
- 21 application for a new certificate and the required fee, mail
- or deliver them to the Secretary of State. The delivery of
- 23 the certificate does not affect the rights of the lienholder
- 24 under his security agreement.
- 25 (d) If a security interest is reserved or created at the
- 26 time of the transfer, the certificate of title shall be
- 27 retained by or delivered to the person who becomes the
- lienholder, and the parties shall comply with the provisions
- 29 of Section 3-203.
- 30 (e) Except as provided in Section 3-113 and as between
- 31 the parties, a transfer by an owner is not effective until
- 32 the provisions of this Section and Section 3-115 have been
- 33 complied with; however, an owner who has delivered possession
- of the vehicle to the transferee and has complied with the

- 1 provisions of this Section and Section 3-115 requiring action
- 2 by him as not liable as owner for any damages thereafter
- 3 resulting from operation of the vehicle.
- 4 (f) The Secretary of State shall not process any
- 5 application for a transfer of an interest in a vehicle if any
- 6 fees or taxes due under this Act from the transferor or the
- 7 transferee have not been paid upon reasonable notice and
- 8 demand.
- 9 (g) If the Secretary of State receives an application
- 10 for transfer of a vehicle subject to a tax under the Mobile
- 11 Mobil Home Local Services Tax Act in a county with a
- population of less than 3,000,000, such application must be
- 13 accompanied by the required certification by the county
- 14 treasurer or tax assessor authorizing the issuance of the
- 15 title.
- 16 (Source: P.A. 90-212, eff. 1-1-98; 90-542, eff. 12-1-97;
- 17 90-655, eff. 7-30-98; revised 2-6-01.)