92\_HB0903ham001

## LRB9205768RCcdam

1	AMENDMENT	ТО	HOUSE	BILL	903	

- 2 AMENDMENT NO. \_\_\_\_. Amend House Bill 903 by replacing
- 3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
- 4 "Section 5. The Criminal Code of 1961 is amended by
- 5 changing Section 24-3 as follows:
- 6 (720 ILCS 5/24-3) (from Ch. 38, par. 24-3)
- 7 Sec. 24-3. Unlawful Sale of Firearms.
- 8 (A) A person commits the offense of unlawful sale of
- 9 firearms when he or she knowingly does any of the following:
- 10 (a) Sells or gives any firearm of a size which may
- 11 be concealed upon the person to any person under 18 years
- of age.
- 13 (b) Sells or gives any firearm to a person under 21
- 14 years of age who has been convicted of a misdemeanor
- other than a traffic offense or adjudged delinquent.
- 16 (c) Sells or gives any firearm to any narcotic
- 17 addict.
- 18 (d) Sells or gives any firearm to any person who
- has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this or
- 20 any other jurisdiction.
- 21 (e) Sells or gives any firearm to any person who
- has been a patient in a mental hospital within the past 5

1 years.

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2.1

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

- (f) Sells or gives any firearms to any person who is mentally retarded.
- (g) Delivers any firearm of a size which may be concealed upon the person, incidental to a sale, without withholding delivery of such firearm for at least 72 hours after application for its purchase has been made, or delivers any rifle, shotgun or other incidental to a sale, without withholding delivery of such rifle, shotgun or other long gun for at least 24 hours after application for its purchase has been made. However, this paragraph (g) does not apply to: (1) the sale of a firearm to a law enforcement officer or a person who desires to purchase a firearm for use in promoting the public interest incident to his or her employment as a bank guard, armed truck guard, or other similar employment; (2) a mail order sale of a firearm to a nonresident of Illinois under which the firearm is mailed to a point outside the boundaries of Illinois; (3) the sale of a firearm to a nonresident of Illinois while at a firearm showing or display recognized by the Illinois Department of State Police; or (4) the sale of a firearm to a dealer licensed under the Federal Firearms Act of the United States.
  - (h) While holding any license as a dealer, importer, manufacturer or pawnbroker under the federal Gun Control Act of 1968, manufactures, sells or delivers to any unlicensed person a handgun having a barrel, slide, frame or receiver which is a die casting of zinc alloy or any other nonhomogeneous metal which will melt or deform at a temperature of less than 800 degrees Fahrenheit. For purposes of this paragraph, (1) "firearm" is defined as in the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act; and (2) "handgun" is defined as

- a firearm designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand, and includes a combination of parts from which such a firearm can be assembled.
  - (i) Sells or gives a firearm of any size to any person under 18 years of age who does not possess a valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
  - (j) While holding any license as a dealer, importer, manufacturer, or pawnbroker under the federal Gun Control Act of 1968, sells or gives a firearm to any Illinois resident 18 years of age or over who does not possess and display a valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
  - (B) Paragraph (h) of subsection (A) does not include firearms sold within 6 months after enactment of Public Act 78-355 (approved August 21, 1973, effective October 1, 1973), nor is any firearm legally owned or possessed by any citizen or purchased by any citizen within 6 months after the enactment of Public Act 78-355 subject to confiscation or seizure under the provisions of that Public Act. Nothing in Public Act 78-355 shall be construed to prohibit the gift or trade of any firearm if that firearm was legally held or acquired within 6 months after the enactment of that Public Act.
    - (B-5) Paragraph (j) of subsection (A) does not apply to any person who is not prohibited under State or federal law from owning or possessing a firearm if the person is participating in a firearms safety, training, or education course.
- (C) Sentence.

- 30 (1) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 31 firearms in violation of any of paragraphs (c) through 32 (h) and (j) of subsection (A) commits a Class 4 felony.
- 33 (2) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 34 firearms in violation of paragraph (b) or (i) of

1 subsection (A) commits a Class 3 felony.

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

- (3) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of firearms in violation of paragraph (a) of subsection (A) commits a Class 2 felony.
- (4) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of firearms in violation of paragraph (a), (b), or (i) of subsection (A) in any school, on the real property comprising a school, within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a school, at a school related activity, or on or within 1,000 feet of any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by a school or school district to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, regardless of the time of day or time of year at which the offense was committed, commits a Class 1 felony. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent violation of unlawful sale of firearms in violation of paragraph (a), (b), or (i) of subsection (A) in any school, on the real property comprising a school, within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a school, at a school related activity, or on or within 1,000 feet of any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by a school or school district to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, regardless the time of day or time of year at which the offense was committed, commits a Class 1 felony for which the sentence shall be a term of imprisonment of no less than 5 years and no more than 15 years.
- (5) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of firearms in violation of paragraph (a) or (i) of subsection (A) in residential property owned, operated, or managed by a public housing agency or leased by a public housing agency as part of a scattered site or mixed-income development, in a public park, in a courthouse, on residential property owned, operated, or

- managed by a public housing agency or leased by a public 1 2 housing agency as part of a scattered site mixed-income development, on the real property comprising 3 4 any public park, on the real property comprising any 5 courthouse, or on any public way within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising any public park, courthouse, or 6 residential property owned, operated, or managed by a 7 8 public housing agency or leased by a public housing 9 agency as part of a scattered site or mixed-income development commits a Class 2 felony. 10
- 11 (D) For purposes of this Section:
- 12 "School" means a public or private elementary or
- secondary school, community college, college, or university.
- "School related activity" means any sporting, social,
- 15 academic, or other activity for which students' attendance or
- 16 participation is sponsored, organized, or funded in whole or
- in part by a school or school district.
- 18 (Source: P.A. 91-12, eff. 1-1-00; 91-673, eff. 12-22-99;
- 19 91-696, eff. 4-13-00.)
- 20 Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
- 21 becoming law.".