Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

820 ILCS 205/6

    (820 ILCS 205/6) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.6)
    Sec. 6. It shall be the duty of every employer of minors between the ages of 14 and 16 years employed for or in connection with any gainful occupation mentioned in Section 1 to keep a register upon the premises where the work is being done on which register shall be recorded the name, age and place of residence of every minor between the ages of 14 and 16 years. It shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to hire or employ or to permit or allow to work in or for or in connection with any of the gainful occupations mentioned in Section 1, any minor between the ages of 14 and 16 years unless there is first procured and placed on file on the premises where the work is being done, employment certificates issued as hereinafter provided and accessible to the authorized officers and employees of the Department of Labor, and to the truant officers and other school officials charged with the enforcement of the compulsory education law.
(Source: P.A. 84-551.)