Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

820 ILCS 175/70

    (820 ILCS 175/70)
    Sec. 70. Penalties.
    (a) A day and temporary labor service agency or third party client that violates any of the provisions of this Act or any rule adopted under this Act shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $6,000 for violations found in the first audit by the Department. Following a first audit, a day and temporary labor service agency or third party client shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $2,500 for each repeat violation found by the Department within 3 years. For purposes of this subsection, each violation of this Act for each day or temporary laborer and for each day the violation continues shall constitute a separate and distinct violation. In determining the amount of a penalty, the Director shall consider the appropriateness of the penalty to the day and temporary labor service agency or third party client charged, upon the determination of the gravity of the violations. For any violation determined by the Department to be willful which is within 3 years of an earlier violation, the Department may revoke the registration of the violator, if the violator is a day and temporary labor service agency. The amount of the penalty, when finally determined, may be:
        (1) Recovered in a civil action brought by the
Director of Labor in any circuit court. In this litigation, the Director of Labor shall be represented by the Attorney General.
        (2) Ordered by the court, in an action brought by any
party for a violation under this Act, to be paid to the Director of Labor.
    (b) The Department shall adopt rules for violation hearings and penalties for violations of this Act or the Department's rules in conjunction with the penalties set forth in this Act.
    Any administrative determination by the Department as to the amount of each penalty shall be final unless reviewed as provided in Section 60 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1185, eff. 7-22-10.)