Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
820 ILCS 115/14
(820 ILCS 115/14)
(from Ch. 48, par. 39m-14)
(a) Any employee not timely paid wages, final compensation, or wage supplements by his or her employer as required by this Act shall be entitled to recover through a claim filed with the Department of Labor or in a civil action, but not both, the amount of any such underpayments and damages of 5% of the amount of any such underpayments for each month following the date of payment during which such underpayments remain unpaid. In a civil action, such employee shall also recover costs and all reasonable attorney's fees.
(a-5) In addition to the remedies provided in subsections (a), (b), and (c) of this Section, any employer or any agent of an employer, who, being able to pay wages,
final compensation, or wage supplements and being under a duty to pay,
wilfully refuses to pay as provided in this Act, or falsely denies the
amount or validity thereof or that the same is due, with intent to secure
for himself or other person any underpayment of such indebtedness or with
intent to annoy, harass, oppress, hinder, delay or defraud the person to
whom such indebtedness is due, upon conviction, is guilty of:
(1) for unpaid wages, final compensation or wage
supplements in the amount of $5,000 or less, a Class B misdemeanor; or
(2) for unpaid wages, final compensation or wage
supplements in the amount of more than $5,000, a Class A misdemeanor.
Each day during which any violation of this Act continues
shall constitute a separate and distinct offense.
Any employer or any agent of an employer who violates this Section of the Act a subsequent time within 2 years of a prior criminal conviction under this Section is guilty, upon conviction, of a Class 4 felony.
(b) Any employer who has been demanded or ordered by the Department or ordered by the court
to pay wages, final compensation, or wage supplements due an employee shall be required to pay a non-waivable administrative fee to the Department of Labor in the amount of $250 if the amount ordered by the Department as wages owed is $3,000 or less; $500 if the amount ordered by the Department as wages owed is more than $3,000, but less than $10,000; and $1,000 if the amount ordered by the Department as wages owed is $10,000 or more. Any employer who has been so demanded or ordered by the Department or ordered by a court to pay such wages, final compensation, or wage supplements and who fails to seek timely review of such a demand or order as provided for under this Act and who fails to comply within 15 calendar days after such demand or within 35 days of an administrative or court order is entered shall also be liable to pay a penalty to the Department of Labor of 20% of the amount found owing and a penalty to the employee of 1% per calendar day of the amount found owing for each day of delay in paying such wages to the employee. All moneys recovered as fees and civil penalties under this Act, except those owing to the affected employee, shall be deposited into the Wage Theft Enforcement Fund, a special fund which is hereby created in the State treasury. Moneys in the Fund may be used for enforcement of this Act and for outreach and educational activities of the Department related to the recovery of unpaid or underpaid compensation and the disbursement of moneys to affected parties.
(b-5) Penalties and fees under this Section may be assessed by the Department and recovered in a civil action brought by the Department in any circuit court or in any administrative adjudicative proceeding under this Act. In any such civil action or administrative adjudicative proceeding under this Act, the Department shall be represented by the Attorney General.
(c) Any employer, or any agent of an employer, who discharges
or in any other manner discriminates against any employee because
has made a complaint to his or her employer, to the Director of Labor or his or her
authorized representative, in a public hearing, or to a community organization that he or she has not been paid in accordance
with the provisions of this Act, or because that employee has caused to
be instituted any proceeding under or related to this Act, or because that
employee has testified or is about to testify in an investigation or proceeding
under this Act, is guilty, upon conviction, of a Class C misdemeanor. An employee who has been unlawfully retaliated against shall be entitled to recover through a claim filed with the Department of Labor or in a civil action, but not both, all legal and equitable relief as may be appropriate. In a civil action, such employee shall also recover costs and all reasonable attorney's fees.
(Source: P.A. 102-50, eff. 7-9-21; 103-182, eff. 6-30-23.)