Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

820 ILCS 105/6

    (820 ILCS 105/6) (from Ch. 48, par. 1006)
    Sec. 6. (a) For any occupation, the Director may provide by regulation for the employment in that occupation of learners at such wages lower than the minimum wage provided in items (1) and (3) of subsection (a) of Section 4 as the Director may find appropriate to prevent curtailment of opportunities for employment and to safeguard the minimum wage rate of this Act.
    (b) Where the Director has provided by regulation for the employment of learners, such regulations are subject to provisions hereinafter set forth and to such additional terms and conditions as may be established in supplemental regulations applicable to the employment of learners in particular industries.
    (c) In any occupation, every employer may pay a subminimum wage to learners during their period of learning. However, under no circumstances, may an employer pay a learner a wage less than 70% of the minimum wage rate provided in item (1) of subsection (a) of Section 4 of this Act for employees 18 years of age or older.
    (d) No person is deemed a learner in any occupation for which he has completed the required training; and in no case may a person be deemed a learner in that occupation after 6 months of such training, except where the Director finds, after investigation, that for the particular occupation a minimum of proficiency cannot be acquired in 6 months.
(Source: P.A. 94-1072, eff. 7-1-07.)