Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

815 ILCS 400/1

    (815 ILCS 400/1) (from Ch. 111, par. 8051)
    Sec. 1. No individual or agency, authorized by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service to offer a course leading to a certificate of satisfactory pursuit for issuance of permanent resident status, may charge a fee for such course in excess of $5 per hour per individual up to the first 60 hours of instruction or $500 for up to 12 months of instruction from the date of registration. As used in this Section, the term "fee" includes all costs associated with the course, including the costs of instruction and materials.
(Source: P.A. 102-1030, eff. 5-27-22.)