Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

815 ILCS 205/4.1a

    (815 ILCS 205/4.1a) (from Ch. 17, par. 6406)
    Sec. 4.1a. Charges for and cost of the following items paid or incurred by any lender in connection with any loan shall not be deemed to be charges for or in connection with any loan of money referred to in Section 6 of this Act, or charges by the lender as a consideration for the loan referred to in this Section:
        (a) hazard, mortgage or life insurance premiums,
survey, credit report, title insurance, abstract and attorneys' fees, recording charges, escrow and appraisal fees, and similar charges.
        (b) in the case of construction loans, in addition to
the matters referred to in clause (a) above, the actual cost incurred by the lender for services for making physical inspections, processing payouts, examining and reviewing contractors' and subcontractors' sworn statements and waivers of lien and the like.
        (c) in the case of any loan made pursuant to the
provisions of the Emergency Home Purchase Assistance Act of 1974 (Section 313 of the National Housing Act, Chapter B of Title 12 of the United States Code), in addition to the matters referred to in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section all charges required or allowed by the Government National Mortgage Association, whether designated as processing fees, commitment fees, loss reserve and marketing fees, discounts, origination fees or otherwise designated.
        (d) in the case of a single payment loan, made for a
period of 6 months or less, a regulated financial institution or licensed lender may contract for and receive a maximum charge of $15 in lieu of interest. Such charge may be collected when the loan is made, but only one such charge may be contracted for, received, or collected for any such loan, including any extension or renewal thereof.
        (e) if the agreement governing the loan so provides,
a charge not to exceed the rate permitted under Section 3-806 of the Uniform Commercial Code-Commercial Paper for any check, draft or order for the payment of money submitted in accordance with said agreement which is unpaid or not honored by a bank or other depository institution.
        (f) if the agreement governing the loan so provides,
for each loan installment in default for a period of not less than 10 days, a charge in an amount not in excess of 5% of such loan installment. Only one delinquency charge may be collected on any such loan installment regardless of the period during which it remains in default. Payments timely received by the lender under a written extension or deferral agreement shall not be subject to any delinquency charge.
    Notwithstanding items (k) and (l) of subsection (1) of Section 4 of this Act, the lender, in the case of any nonexempt residential mortgage loan, as defined in Section 1-4 of the Residential Mortgage License Act of 1987, other than a high risk home loan as defined in Section 10 of the High Risk Home Loan Act, shall have the right to include a prepayment penalty that extends no longer than the fixed rate period of a variable rate mortgage provided that, if a prepayment is made during the fixed rate period and not in connection with the sale or destruction of the dwelling securing the loan, the lender shall receive an amount that is no more than:
        (1) 3% of the total loan amount if the prepayment is
made within the first 12-month period following the date the loan was made;
        (2) 2% of the total loan amount if the prepayment is
made within the second 12-month period following the date the loan was made; or
        (3) 1% of the total loan amount if the prepayment is
made within the third 12-month period following the date the loan was made, if the fixed rate period extends 3 years.
    This Section applies to loans made, refinanced, renewed, extended, or modified on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly.
    Where there is a charge in addition to the stated rate of interest payable directly or indirectly by the borrower and imposed directly or indirectly by the lender as a consideration for the loan, or for or in connection with the loan of money, whether paid or payable by the borrower, the seller, or any other person on behalf of the borrower to the lender or to a third party, or for or in connection with the loan of money, other than as hereinabove in this Section provided, whether denominated "points," "service charge," "discount," "commission," or otherwise, and without regard to declining balances of principal which would result from any required or optional amortization of the principal of the loan, the rate of interest shall be calculated in the following manner:
    The percentage of the principal amount of the loan represented by all of such charges shall first be computed, which in the case of a loan with an interest rate in excess of 8% per annum secured by residential real estate, other than loans described in paragraphs (e) and (f) of Section 4, shall not exceed 3% of such principal amount. Said percentage shall then be divided by the number of years and fractions thereof of the period of the loan according to its stated maturity. The percentage thus obtained shall then be added to the percentage of the stated annual rate of interest.
(Source: P.A. 97-849, eff. 1-10-14 (see Section 10 of P.A. 97-1159, 78 Fed. Reg. 6855, 6857, 78 Fed. Reg. 10695, 10696, and 78 Fed. Reg. 44685, 44686).)