Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

765 ILCS 745/6.4

    (765 ILCS 745/6.4)
    Sec. 6.4. Rent Deferral Program. A tenant or co-tenants may defer, for up to one year, payment of the amount by which the rent has most recently been increased if the tenant or co-tenants provide proof of inability to pay the increased rent amount by meeting the following requirements within 30 days of the date on which the tenant or co-tenants receive either a new lease or a notice of rent increase:
        (1) The tenant or co-tenants attest, by sworn
affidavit, that they shall diligently proceed to list their mobile home with a licensed sales entity and market it for sale;
        (2) The tenant or co-tenants attest, by sworn
affidavit, that the proposed new lease amount will exceed 45% of the tenant's or co-tenants' current taxable and non-taxable income, from whatever source derived; and
        (3) The tenant or co-tenants provide verification in
the form of a tax return and other such documents as may be required to independently verify the annual income and assets of the tenant or co-tenants.
    If the tenant or co-tenants meet the above requirements, the tenant or co-tenants may continue to reside in the mobile home for a period of up to 12 months or the date on which the tenant or co-tenants sell the mobile home to a new tenant approved by the park owner, whichever date is earlier. The tenant or co-tenants must remain current on all rent payments at the rental amount due before the notice of the rent increase. The tenant or co-tenants shall be required to pay, upon sale of the home, the deferred rent portion which represents the difference between the actual monthly rental amount paid starting from the effective date of the rent increase and the monthly amount due per the rent increase notice without any additional interest or penalty charges.
(Source: P.A. 95-383, eff. 1-1-08.)