Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
765 ILCS 605/30
(765 ILCS 605/30)
(from Ch. 30, par. 330)
Conversion condominiums; notice; recording.
(a)(1) No real estate may be submitted to the provisions of the
Act as a conversion condominium unless (i) a notice of intent to submit
the real estate to this Act (notice of intent) has been given to all persons
who were tenants of the building located on the real estate on the date
the notice is given. Such notice shall be given at least 30 days, and
not more than one year prior to the recording of the declaration which submits
the real estate to this Act; and (ii) the developer executes and acknowledges
a certificate which shall be attached to and made a part of the declaration
and which provides that the developer, prior to the execution by him or
his agent of any agreement for the sale of a unit, has given a copy of the
notice of intent to all persons who were tenants of the building located
on the real estate on the date the notice of intent was given.
(2) If the owner fails to provide a tenant with
notice of the intent to convert as defined in this Section, the tenant permanently vacates the premises as a direct result of non-renewal of his or her lease by the owner, and the tenant's unit is converted to a condominium by the filing of a declaration submitting a property to this Act without having provided the required notice, then the owner is liable to the tenant for the following:
(A) the tenant's actual moving expenses incurred
when moving from the subject property, not to exceed $1,500;
(B) 3 months' rent at the subject property; and
(C) reasonable attorney's fees and court costs.
(b) Any developer of a conversion condominium must, upon issuing the notice
of intent, publish and deliver along with such notice of intent, a schedule
of selling prices for all units subject to the condominium instruments and
offer to sell such unit to the current tenants, except for units to be vacated
for rehabilitation subsequent to such notice of intent. Such offer shall
not expire earlier than 30 days after receipt of the offer by the current
tenant, unless the tenant notifies the developer in writing of his election
not to purchase the condominium unit.
(c) Any tenant who was a tenant as of the date of the notice of intent and
whose tenancy expires (other than for cause) prior to the expiration of
120 days from the date on which a copy of the notice of intent was given
to the tenant shall have the right to extend his tenancy on the same terms
and conditions and for the same rental until the expiration of such 120-day period by the giving of written notice thereof to the developer within
30 days of the date upon which a copy of the notice of intent was given
to the tenant by the developer.
(d) Each lessee in a conversion condominium shall be informed by the developer
at the time the notice of intent is given whether his tenancy will be renewed
or terminated upon its expiration. If the tenancy is to be renewed, the
tenant shall be informed of all charges, rental or otherwise, in connection
with the new tenancy and the length of the term of occupancy proposed in
(e) For a period of 120 days following his receipt of the notice of intent,
any tenant who was a tenant on the date the notice of intent was given shall
be given the right to purchase his unit on substantially the same terms
and conditions as set forth in a duly executed contract to purchase the
unit, which contract shall conspicuously disclose the existence
of, and shall be subject to, the right of first refusal. The tenant may
exercise the right of first refusal by giving notice thereof to the developer
prior to the expiration of 30 days from the giving of notice by the developer
to the tenant of the execution of the contract to purchase the unit.
The tenant may exercise such right of first refusal within 30 days from
the giving of notice by the developer of the execution of a contract to
purchase the unit, notwithstanding the expiration of the 120-day period
following the tenant's receipt of the notice of intent, if such contract
was executed prior to the expiration of the 120-day period. The
recording of the deed conveying the unit to the purchaser which contains
a statement to the effect that the tenant of the unit either waived or failed
to exercise the right of first refusal or option or had no right of first
refusal or option with respect to the unit shall extinguish any legal or
equitable right or interest to the possession or acquisition of the unit which
the tenant may have or claim with respect to the unit arising out of the
right of first refusal or option provided for in this Section. The foregoing
provision shall not affect any claim which the tenant may have against
the landlord for damages arising out of the right of first refusal
provided for in this Section.
(f) During the 30-day period after the giving of notice of an executed contract
in which the tenant may exercise the right of first refusal, the developer
shall grant to such tenant access to any portion of the building to inspect
any of its features or systems and access to any reports, warranties, or
other documents in the possession of the developer which reasonably pertain
to the condition of the building. Such access shall be subject to reasonable
limitations, including as to hours. The refusal of the developer to grant
such access is a business offense punishable by a fine of $500. Each refusal
to an individual lessee who is a potential purchaser is a separate violation.
(g) Any notice provided for in this Section shall be deemed given when a written
notice is delivered in person or mailed, certified or registered mail, return
receipt requested to the party who is being given the notice.
(h) Prior to their initial sale, units offered for sale in a conversion
condominium and occupied by a tenant at the time of the offer shall be shown to
prospective purchasers only a reasonable number of times and at appropriate
hours. Units may only be shown to prospective purchasers during the last 90
days of any expiring tenancy.
(i) Any provision in any lease or other rental agreement, or any termination
of occupancy on account of condominium conversion, not authorized herein,
or contrary to or waiving the foregoing provisions, shall be deemed to be
void as against public policy.
(j) A tenant is entitled to injunctive relief to enforce the provisions of subsections (a) and (c) of this Section.
(k) A non-profit housing organization, suing on behalf of an aggrieved tenant under this Section, may also recover compensation for reasonable attorney's fees and court costs necessary for filing such action.
(l) Nothing in this Section shall affect any provision in any lease or rental
agreement in effect before this Act becomes law.
(m) Nothing in this amendatory Act of 1978 shall be construed to imply
that there was previously a requirement to record the notice provided for
in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 101-81, eff. 7-12-19.)