Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(730 ILCS 150/5-5)
Discharge of sex offender
or sexual predator from a hospital
or other treatment
facility; duties of the official in charge.
Any sex offender, as defined in Section 2 of this Act, or sexual
predator, as defined in this Article, who is
discharged or released
from a hospital or other treatment facility where he or she was confined shall
be informed by the hospital
or treatment facility in which
he or she was confined, prior to discharge or
release from the hospital or treatment facility, of his or her duty
to register under this Article.
The facility shall require the person to read and sign such form as may be
required by the Illinois State Police stating that the duty to register
the procedure for registration has been explained to him or her and that he or
she understands the duty to register and the procedure for registration. The
facility shall give one copy of the form to the person, retain one copy for
their records, and forward the original to the Illinois State Police. The
facility shall obtain information about where the person
expects to reside, work, and attend school upon his
or her discharge, parole, or release and shall report the information to the
Illinois State Police within 3 days.
The facility or institution shall also inform any person who must register
that if he or she establishes a residence outside of the State of Illinois, is
employed outside of the State of Illinois, or attends school outside of the
State of Illinois, he or she must register in the new state within 3 days
after establishing the residence, beginning school, or beginning employment.
The Illinois State Police shall notify the
law enforcement agencies
having jurisdiction where the person expects to reside, work, and attend
school upon his or her
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)