Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 150/4
(730 ILCS 150/4)
(from Ch. 38, par. 224)
Discharge of sex offender, as defined in Section 2 of this Act,
or sexual predator from Department of
facility or other penal institution; duties of
official in charge.
Any sex offender, as defined in Section 2 of this Act,
or sexual predator, as defined by this
is discharged, paroled or released from a Department of
Corrections or Department of Juvenile Justice facility, a facility where such person was placed by the
Department of Corrections or Department of Juvenile Justice or another penal institution, and
whose liability for
registration has not terminated under Section 7 shall, prior to discharge,
parole or release from the facility or institution, be informed of his or her
duty to register in person within 3 days of release by the
facility or institution in which he or she was confined.
The facility or institution shall also inform any person who must register
that if he or she establishes a residence outside of the State of Illinois,
is employed outside of the State of Illinois, or attends school outside of
State of Illinois,
or she must register in the new state within 3 days
residence, beginning employment, or beginning school.
The facility shall require the person to read and sign such form as may
be required by the Illinois State Police stating that the duty to
register and the procedure for registration has been explained to him or her
and that he or she understands the duty to register and the procedure for
registration. The facility shall further advise the person in writing that the
failure to register or other violation of this Article shall result in
revocation of parole, aftercare release, mandatory supervised release or conditional release.
The facility shall obtain information about where the
person expects to reside, work, and attend school upon
his or her discharge, parole or release and shall report the information to the
Illinois State Police. The facility shall give one copy of the form
to the person and shall send one copy to each of the law enforcement agencies
jurisdiction where the person expects to reside, work, and attend school
upon his or her discharge,
parole or release and retain one copy for the files.
Electronic data files which includes all notification form information and
photographs of sex offenders being released from an Illinois Department of
Corrections or Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice facility will be shared on a regular basis as determined between
the Illinois State Police, the Department of Corrections, and Department of Juvenile Justice.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)