Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

730 ILCS 148/15

    (730 ILCS 148/15)
    Sec. 15. Discharge of arsonist from penal institution. Any arsonist who is discharged, paroled or released from a Department of Corrections facility, a facility where such person was placed by the Department of Corrections or another penal institution, and whose liability for registration has not terminated under Section 45 shall, within 10 days prior to discharge, parole, or release from the facility or institution, be informed of his or her duty to register in person under this Act by the facility or institution in which he or she was confined. The facility or institution shall also inform any person who must register that if he or she establishes a residence outside of the State of Illinois, is employed outside of the State of Illinois, or attends school outside of the State of Illinois, he or she must register in the new state within 10 days after establishing the residence, beginning employment, or beginning school. The facility shall require the person to read and sign such form as may be required by the Illinois State Police stating that the duty to register and the procedure for registration has been explained to him or her and that he or she understands the duty to register and the procedure for registration. The facility shall further advise the person in writing that the failure to register or other violation of this Act shall result in revocation of parole, mandatory supervised release or conditional release. The facility shall obtain information about where the person expects to reside, work, and attend school upon his or her discharge, parole or release and shall report the information to the Illinois State Police. The facility shall give one copy of the form to the person and shall send one copy to each of the law enforcement agencies having jurisdiction where the person expects to reside, work, and attend school upon his or her discharge, parole or release and retain one copy for the files. Electronic data files that include all notification form information and photographs of arsonists being released from an Illinois Department of Corrections facility shall be shared on a regular basis as determined between the Illinois State Police and the Department of Corrections.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)