Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
705 ILCS 405/5-415
(705 ILCS 405/5-415)
Setting of detention or shelter care hearing; release.
(1) Unless sooner released, a minor alleged to be a delinquent minor taken
into temporary custody must be brought before a judicial officer within 40
hours for a detention or shelter care hearing to determine whether the minor
further held in custody. If a minor alleged to be a delinquent minor taken into
custody is hospitalized or is receiving treatment for a physical or mental
condition, and is unable to be brought before a judicial officer for a
detention or shelter care hearing, the 40 hour period will not commence until
the minor is released from the hospital or place of treatment. If the minor
gives false information to law enforcement officials regarding the minor's
identity or age, the 40 hour period will not commence until the court rules
that the minor is subject to this Act and not subject to prosecution under the
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012. Any
other delay attributable to a minor alleged to be a delinquent minor who is
taken into temporary custody shall act to toll the 40 hour time period. The 40 hour time period shall be tolled to allow counsel for the minor to prepare for the detention or shelter care hearing, upon a motion filed by such counsel and granted by the court. In all
cases, the 40 hour time period is exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays and
(2) If the State's Attorney or probation officer (or other public
officer designated by the court in a county having more than 3,000,000
inhabitants) determines that the minor should be retained in custody, the probation officer or such other public officer designated by the court
cause a petition to be filed as provided in Section 5-520 of this Article, and
the clerk of the court shall set the matter for hearing on the detention or
shelter care hearing calendar. Immediately upon the filing of a petition in the case of a minor retained in custody, the court shall cause counsel to be appointed to represent the minor. When a parent, legal guardian, custodian, or
responsible relative is present and so requests, the detention or shelter care
hearing shall be held immediately if the court is in session
and the State is ready to proceed, otherwise at the earliest feasible time.
In no event shall a detention or shelter care hearing be held until the minor has had adequate opportunity to consult with counsel. The probation officer or such other public officer designated by the court in a
county having more than 3,000,000 inhabitants shall notify the minor's parent,
legal guardian, custodian, or responsible relative of the time and place of the
hearing. The notice may be given orally.
(3) The minor must be released from custody at the expiration of the 40
hour period specified by this Section if not brought before a judicial officer
within that period.
(4) After the initial 40 hour period has lapsed, the court may review the
minor's custodial status at any time prior to the trial or sentencing
hearing. If during this time period new or additional information becomes
available concerning the minor's conduct, the court may conduct a hearing to
determine whether the minor should be placed in a detention or shelter care
facility. If the court finds that there is probable cause that the minor is a
delinquent minor and that it is a matter of immediate and urgent necessity for
the protection of the minor or of the person or property of another, or that the minor is likely to flee the jurisdiction of the court, the court may order
that the minor be placed in detention or shelter care.
(Source: P.A. 103-22, eff. 8-8-23.)