Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 405/3-16

    (705 ILCS 405/3-16) (from Ch. 37, par. 803-16)
    Sec. 3-16. Date for adjudicatory hearing. (a) Until January 1, 1988:
    (1) When a petition has been filed alleging that the minor requires authoritative intervention, an adjudicatory hearing shall be held within 120 days. The 120 day period in which an adjudicatory hearing shall be held is tolled by: (A) delay occasioned by the minor; (B) a continuance allowed pursuant to Section 114-4 of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963 after a court's determination of the minor's physical incapacity for trial; or (C) an interlocutory appeal. Any such delay shall temporarily suspend for the time of the delay the period within which the adjudicatory hearing must be held. On the day of expiration of the delay, the said period shall continue at the point at which it was suspended. Where no such adjudicatory hearing is held within 120 days, the court may, on written motion of a minor's guardian ad litem, dismiss the petition with respect to such minor. Such dismissal shall be without prejudice.
    Where the court determines that the State exercised, without success, due diligence to obtain evidence material to the case, and that there are reasonable grounds to believe that such evidence may be obtained at a later date, the court may, upon written motion by the State, continue the matter for not more than 30 additional days.
    (2) In the case of a minor ordered held in shelter care, the hearing on the petition must be held within 10 judicial days from the date of the order of the court directing shelter care or the earliest possible date in compliance with the notice provisions of Sections 3-17 and 3-18 as to the custodial parent, guardian or legal custodian, but no later than 30 judicial days from the date of the order of the court directing shelter care. Delay occasioned by the respondent shall temporarily suspend, for the time of the delay, the period within which a respondent must be tried pursuant to this Section.
    Upon failure to comply with the time limits specified in this subsection (a)(2), the minor shall be immediately released. The time limits specified in subsection (a)(1) shall still apply.
    (3) Nothing in this Section prevents the minor's exercise of his or her right to waive any time limits set forth in this Section.
    (b) Beginning January 1, 1988:
    (1) (A) When a petition has been filed alleging that the minor requires authoritative intervention, an adjudicatory hearing shall be held within 120 days of a demand made by any party, except that when the court determines that the State, without success, has exercised due diligence to obtain evidence material to the case and that there are reasonable grounds to believe that such evidence may be obtained at a later date, the court may, upon motion by the State, continue the adjudicatory hearing for not more than 30 additional days.
    The 120 day period in which an adjudicatory hearing shall be held is tolled by: (i) delay occasioned by the minor; or (ii) a continuance allowed pursuant to Section 114-4 of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963 after a court's determination of the minor's physical incapacity for trial; or (iii) an interlocutory appeal. Any such delay shall temporarily suspend, for the time of the delay, the period within which the adjudicatory hearing must be held. On the day of expiration of the delay, the said period shall continue at the point at which it was suspended.
    (B) When no such adjudicatory hearing is held within the time required by paragraph (b)(1)(A) of this Section, the court shall, upon motion by any party, dismiss the petition with prejudice.
    (2) Without affecting the applicability of the tolling and multiple prosecution provisions of paragraph (b)(1) of this Section, when a petition has been filed alleging that the minor requires authoritative intervention and the minor is in shelter care, the adjudicatory hearing shall be held within 10 judicial days after the date of the order directing shelter care, or the earliest possible date in compliance with the notice provisions of Sections 3-17 and 3-18 as to the custodial parent, guardian or legal custodian, but no later than 30 judicial days from the date of the order of the court directing shelter care.
    (3) Any failure to comply with the time limits of paragraph (b)(2) of this Section shall require the immediate release of the minor from shelter care, and the time limits of paragraph (b)(1) shall apply.
    (4) Nothing in this Section prevents the minor or the minor's parents or guardian from exercising their respective rights to waive the time limits set forth in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)