Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 405/3-11

    (705 ILCS 405/3-11) (from Ch. 37, par. 803-11)
    Sec. 3-11. Setting of shelter care hearing; notice; release.
    (1) Unless sooner released, a minor requiring authoritative intervention, taken into temporary custody, must be brought before a judicial officer within 48 hours, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays and court-designated holidays, for a shelter care hearing to determine whether he shall be further held in custody.
    (2) If the probation officer or such other public officer designated by the court determines that the minor should be retained in custody, he shall cause a petition to be filed as provided in Section 3-15 of this Act, and the clerk of the court shall set the matter for hearing on the shelter care hearing calendar. When a parent, guardian, custodian or responsible relative is present and so requests, the shelter care hearing shall be held immediately if the court is in session, otherwise at the earliest feasible time. The petitioner through counsel or such other public officer designated by the court shall insure notification to the minor's parent, guardian, custodian or responsible relative of the time and place of the hearing by the best practicable notice, allowing for oral notice in place of written notice only if provision of written notice is unreasonable under the circumstances.
    (3) The minor must be released from custody at the expiration of the 48 hour period, if not brought before a judicial officer within that period.
(Source: P.A. 87-759.)