Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 405/2-4

    (705 ILCS 405/2-4) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-4)
    Sec. 2-4. Dependent minor.
    (1) Those who are dependent include any minor under 18 years of age or a minor 18 years of age or older for whom the court has made a finding of probable cause to believe that the minor is abused, neglected, or dependent under subsection (1) of Section 2-10 prior to the minor's 18th birthday:
        (a) who is without a parent, guardian or legal
        (b) who is without proper care because of the
physical or mental disability of the minor's parent, guardian or custodian;
        (c) who is without proper medical or other remedial
care recognized under State law or other care necessary for the minor's well being through no fault, neglect or lack of concern by the minor's parents, guardian or custodian, provided that no order may be made terminating parental rights, nor may a minor be removed from the custody of the minor's parents for longer than 6 months, pursuant to an adjudication as a dependent minor under this subdivision (c), unless it is found to be in the minor's best interest by the court or the case automatically closes as provided under Section 2-31 of this Act; or
        (d) who has a parent, guardian or legal custodian who
with good cause wishes to be relieved of all residual parental rights and responsibilities, guardianship or custody, and who desires the appointment of a guardian of the person with power to consent to the adoption of the minor under Section 2-29.
    (2) This Section does not apply to a minor who would be included herein solely for the purpose of qualifying for financial assistance for the minor, the minor's parent or parents, guardian or custodian or to a minor solely because the minor's parent or parents or guardian has left the minor for any period of time in the care of an adult relative, who the parent or parents or guardian know is both a mentally capable adult relative and physically capable adult relative, as defined by this Act.
    (3) The changes made by this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly apply to a case that is pending on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 103-22, eff. 8-8-23.)