Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 405/2-2

    (705 ILCS 405/2-2) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-2)
    Sec. 2-2. Venue.
    (1) Venue under this Article lies in the county where the minor resides or is found.
    (2) If proceedings are commenced in any county other than that of the minor's residence, the court in which the proceedings were initiated may at any time before or after adjudication of wardship transfer the case to the county of the minor's residence. Transfer in like manner may be made in the event of a change of residence from one county to another of a minor concerning whom proceedings are pending.
    (3) Not later than the 15th working day after the date an order of transfer is entered, the clerk of the court transferring a proceeding shall send to the clerk of the receiving court in the county to which the transfer is being made an authenticated copy of the court record, including all documents, petitions, and orders filed therein, and the minute orders and docket entries of the court. The clerk of the receiving court shall set a status hearing within 10 business days of receipt of the case and shall notify the judge of the receiving court and all parties.
    (4) The receiving court shall review the court record immediately upon receipt. Within 20 business days of receipt of the record, the reviewing court shall send a notice to the transferring court indicating it has accepted the case and scheduled a status date. Until the transferring court receives this notice, it continues to have jurisdiction over the case. If for any reason the receiving court does not accept the transfer, the receiving court shall, within 20 business days of receiving the case, send a notice to the transferring court indicating its reasons. The transferring court shall continue its jurisdiction of the case and shall set the matter for status within 20 business days.
(Source: P.A. 102-164, eff. 7-26-21.)