Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/7-201

    (625 ILCS 5/7-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-201)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-982)
    Sec. 7-201. Application of Article II. The Administrator as soon as practicable after the receipt of the report, required to be filed under Sections 11-406 and 11-410, of a motor vehicle accident occurring within this State and that has resulted in bodily injury or death of any person or that damage to the property of any one person in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601) was sustained, shall determine:
        1. Whether Section 7-202 of this Code requires the
    
deposit of security by or on behalf of any person who was the operator or owner of any motor vehicle in any manner involved in the accident; and
        2. What amount of security shall be sufficient to
    
satisfy any potential judgment or judgments for money damages resulting from the accident as may be recovered against the operator or owner, which amount shall in no event be less than $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601).
(Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-982)
    Sec. 7-201. Application of Article II. The Administrator as soon as practicable after the receipt of the report, required to be filed under Sections 11-406 and 11-410, of a motor vehicle crash occurring within this State and that has resulted in bodily injury or death of any person or that damage to the property of any one person in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the crash is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601) was sustained, shall determine:
        1. Whether Section 7-202 of this Code requires the
    
deposit of security by or on behalf of any person who was the operator or owner of any motor vehicle in any manner involved in the crash; and
        2. What amount of security shall be sufficient to
    
satisfy any potential judgment or judgments for money damages resulting from the crash as may be recovered against the operator or owner, which amount shall in no event be less than $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the crash is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601).
(Source: P.A. 102-982, eff. 7-1-23.)