Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/5-503
(625 ILCS 5/5-503)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-503)
Failure to obtain dealer's license, operation of a business
with a suspended or revoked license.
(a) Any person operating a business
for which he is required to be licensed under Section 5-101, 5-101.2, 5-102, 5-102.8, 5-201,
or 5-301 who fails to apply for such a license or licenses within 15 days
after being informed in writing by the Secretary of State that he must obtain
such a license or licenses is subject to a civil action brought by the
Secretary of State for operating a business without a license in the
circuit court in the county in which the business is located. If the
person is found to be in violation of Section 5-101, 5-101.2, 5-102, 5-102.8, 5-201, or 5-301
by carrying on a business without being properly licensed, that person
shall be fined $300 for each business day he conducted his business without
such a license after the expiration of the 15-day period specified in this
(b) Any person who, having had his license or licenses issued under Section
5-101, 5-101.2, 5-102, 5-201, or 5-301 suspended, revoked, nonrenewed, cancelled, or denied by the
Secretary of State under Section 5-501 or 5-501.5 of this Code, continues to operate business after
the effective date of such revocation, nonrenewal, suspension, cancellation, or denial
may be sued in a civil action by the Secretary of State in the county in
which the established or additional place of such business is located. Except as provided in subsection (e) of Section 5-501.5 of this Code, if
such person is found by the court to have operated such a business after
the license or licenses required for conducting such
business have been suspended, revoked, nonrenewed, cancelled, or denied, that person
shall be fined $500 for each day he conducted business thereafter.
(Source: P.A. 100-409, eff. 8-25-17; 100-450, eff. 1-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18; 101-505, eff. 1-1-20