Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/3-819

    (625 ILCS 5/3-819) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-819)
    Sec. 3-819. Trailer; tax.
    (a) Farm Trailer. Any farm trailer drawn by a motor vehicle of the second division registered under paragraph (a) or (c) of Section 3-815 and used exclusively by the owner for his own agricultural, horticultural or livestock raising operations and not used for hire, or any farm trailer utilized only in the transportation for-hire of seasonal, fresh, perishable fruit or vegetables from farm to the point of first processing, and any trailer used with a farm tractor that is not an implement of husbandry may be registered under this paragraph in lieu of registration under paragraph (b) of this Section upon the filing of a proper application and the payment of the $10 registration fee and the highway use tax herein for use of the public highways of this State, at the following rates which include the $10 registration fee:
Gross Weight in Lbs.ClassTotal Amount
Including Vehicleeach
and Maximum LoadFiscal Year
10,000 lbs. or lessVDD $160
10,001 to 14,000 lbs.VDE206
14,001 to 20,000 lbs.VDG266
20,001 to 28,000 lbs.VDJ478
28,001 to 36,000 lbs.VDL750
    An owner may only apply for and receive 2 farm trailer registrations.
    (b) All other owners of trailers, other than apportionable trailers registered under Section 3-402.1 of this Code, used with a motor vehicle on the public highways, shall pay to the Secretary of State for each registration year a flat weight tax, for the use of the public highways of this State, at the following rates (which includes the registration fee of $10 required by Section 3-813):
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle andeach
Maximum LoadClassFiscal Year
2,000 lbs. and less UT $36
3,000 lbs. and lessTA$36
5,000 lbs. and more than 3,000TB154
8,000 lbs. and more than 5,000TC158
10,000 lbs. and more than 8,000TD206
14,000 lbs. and more than 10,000TE270
20,000 lbs. and more than 14,000TG358
32,000 lbs. and more than 20,000TK822
36,000 lbs. and more than 32,000TL1,182
40,000 lbs. and more than 36,000TN1,602
    Of the fees collected under this subsection, other than the fee collected for a Class UT or TA trailer, $1 of the fees shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special Services Fund and $99 of the fees shall be deposited into the Road Fund.
    (c) The number of axles necessary to carry the maximum load provided shall be determined from Chapter 15 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 101-32, eff. 6-28-19; 102-353, eff. 1-1-22.)