Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-804.01)
Expanded-use antique vehicles.
(a) The owner of a motor vehicle that is more than 25 years of age or a bona fide replica
thereof may register the vehicle as an expanded-use antique vehicle. In addition to the appropriate registration and renewal fees, the fee for expanded-use antique vehicle registration and renewal, except as provided under subsection (d), shall be $45 per year. The application for
registration must be accompanied by an affirmation of
the owner that:
(1) from January 1 through the last day of February
and from December 1 through December 31, the vehicle will be driven on the highways only for the purpose of going to and returning from an antique auto show or an exhibition, or for servicing or demonstration; and
(2) the mechanical condition, physical condition,
brakes, lights, glass, and appearance of such vehicle is the same or as safe as originally equipped.
From March 1 through November 30, a vehicle registered as an expanded-use antique vehicle may be driven on the highways without being subject to the restrictions set forth in subdivision (1). The Secretary may prescribe,
in the Secretary's discretion, that expanded-use antique vehicle plates be issued for a
definite or an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of
registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. Any person requesting expanded-use antique vehicle plates under this Section
may also apply to have vanity or personalized plates as provided under
(b) Any person who is the registered owner of an expanded-use antique vehicle may
display a historical license plate from or representing the model year of
the vehicle, furnished by such person, in lieu of the current and valid
Illinois expanded-use antique vehicle plates issued thereto, provided that the valid and
current Illinois expanded-use antique vehicle plates and registration card issued to
the expanded-use antique vehicle are simultaneously carried within the vehicle and are
available for inspection.
(c) The Secretary may credit a pro-rated portion of a fee previously paid for an antique vehicle registration under Section 3-804 to an owner who applies to have that vehicle registered as an expanded-use antique vehicle instead of an antique vehicle.
(d) The Secretary may make a version of the registration plate authorized under this Section in a form appropriate for motorcycles. In addition to the required registration and renewal fees, the fee for motorcycle expanded-use antique vehicle registration and renewal shall be $23 per year.
(Source: P.A. 102-438, eff. 8-20-21.)