Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-803)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-803)
(a) Reduction of fees and taxes prescribed
in this Chapter shall be applicable only to vehicles newly-acquired by
the owner after the beginning of a registration period or which become
subject to registration after the beginning of a registration period as
specified in this Act. The Secretary of State may deny a reduction as
to any vehicle operated in this State without being properly and timely
registered in Illinois under this Chapter, of a vehicle in violation of
any provision of this Chapter, or upon detection of such violation by an
audit, or upon determining that such vehicle was operated in Illinois
before such violation. Bond or other security in the proper amount may
be required by the Secretary of State while the matter is under
investigation. Reductions shall be granted if a person becomes the owner
after the dates specified or if a vehicle becomes subject to
registration under this Act, as amended, after the dates specified.
(b) Vehicles of the First Division. The annual fees and taxes
prescribed by Section 3-806 shall be reduced by 50% on and after June
15, except as provided in Sections 3-414 and 3-802 of this Act.
(c) Vehicles of the Second Division. The annual fees and taxes
prescribed by Sections 3-402, 3-402.1, 3-815 and 3-819 and paid on a calendar
year for such vehicles shall be reduced on a quarterly basis if the vehicle
becomes subject to registration on and after March 31, June
30 or September 30. Where such fees and taxes are payable on a
fiscal year basis, they shall be reduced on a quarterly basis on and after
September 30, December 31 or March 31.
(d) Two-year Registrations. The fees and taxes prescribed by
Section 3-808 for 2-year registrations shall not be reduced in any
event. However, the fees and taxes prescribed for all other 2-year
registrations by this Act, shall be reduced as follows:
By 25% on and after June 15;
By 50% on and after December 15;
By 75% on and after the next ensuing June 15.
(e) The registration fees and taxes imposed upon certain vehicles
shall not be reduced by any amount in any event in the following
Permits under Sections 3-403 and 3-811;
Governmental or charitable vehicles under Section 3-808;
Farm Machinery under Section 3-809;
Soil and conservation equipment under Section 3-809.1;
Special Plates under Section 3-810;
Permanently mounted equipment under Section 3-812;
Registration fee under Section 3-813;
Semitrailer fees under Section 3-814;
Farm trucks under Section 3-815;
Mileage weight tax option under Section 3-818;
Farm trailers under Section 3-819;
Duplicate plates under Section 3-820;
Fees under Section 3-821;
Search Fees under Section 3-823.
(f) The reductions provided for shall not apply to any vehicle of the
first or second division registered by the same applicant in the prior
The changes to this Section made by Public Act 84-210 take effect with the 1986 Calendar Registration Year.
(g) Reductions shall in no event result in payment of a fee or tax less
than $6, and the Secretary of State shall promulgate schedules of fees
reflecting applicable reductions. Where any reduced amount is not stated in
full dollars, the Secretary of State may adjust the amount due to the nearest
full dollar amount.
(h) The reductions provided for in subsections (a) through (g) of this
Section shall not apply to those vehicles of the first or second division
registered on a staggered registration basis.
(i) A vehicle which becomes subject to registration during the last
month of the current registration year is exempt from any applicable reduced
fourth quarter or second semiannual registration fee, and may register for
the subsequent registration year as its initial registration.
This subsection does not include those apportioned and prorated fees
under Sections 3-402 and 3-402.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 100-956, eff. 1-1-19