Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-801)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-801)
(a) Except as provided herein for new residents,
every owner of any vehicle which shall be operated upon the public highways
of this State shall, within 24 hours after becoming the owner or at such
time as such vehicle becomes subject to registration under the provisions
of this Act, file in an office of the Secretary of State, an application
for registration properly completed and executed. New residents need not secure
registration until 30 days after establishing residency in this State,
provided the vehicle is properly registered in another jurisdiction. By the
expiration of such 30-day statutory grace period, a new resident shall
comply with the provisions of this Act and apply for Illinois vehicle
registration. All applications for registration shall be accompanied by all
documentation required under the provisions of this Act. The appropriate
registration fees and taxes provided for in this Article of this Chapter
shall be paid to the Secretary of State with the application for
registration of vehicles subject to registration under this Act.
(b) Any resident of this State, who has been serving as a member or as a civilian employee of the
United States Armed Services, or as a civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense, outside of the State of Illinois, need not
secure registration until 45 days after returning to this
State, provided the vehicle displays temporary military registration.
(c) When an application is submitted by mail, the applicant may not
submit cash or postage stamps for payment of fees or taxes due. The
Secretary in his discretion, may decline to accept a personal or company
check or electronic payment in payment of fees or taxes. An application submitted to a dealer, or
a remittance made to the Secretary of State shall be deemed in compliance
with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 99-118, eff. 1-1-16; 99-324, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)