Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
510 ILCS 70/3.01
(510 ILCS 70/3.01)
(from Ch. 8, par. 703.01)
(a) No person or owner may beat, cruelly treat,
torment, starve, overwork or otherwise abuse any animal.
(b) No owner may abandon any animal where it may become a public charge or
may suffer injury, hunger or exposure.
(c) No owner of a dog or cat that is a companion animal may expose the dog or cat in a manner that places the dog or cat in a life-threatening situation for a prolonged period of time in extreme heat or cold conditions that:
(1) results in injury to or death of the animal; or
(2) results in hypothermia, hyperthermia, frostbite,
or similar condition as diagnosed by a doctor of veterinary medicine.
(c-5) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit an animal from being impounded in an emergency situation under subsection (b) of Section 12 of this Act.
(c-10) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a law enforcement officer from taking temporary custody of a dog or cat that is a companion animal that is exposed in a manner that places the dog or cat in a life-threatening situation for a prolonged period of time in extreme heat or cold conditions that may result in injury or death of the dog or cat or may result in hypothermia, hyperthermia, frostbite, or similar condition. Upon taking temporary custody of the dog or cat under this subsection (c-10), the law enforcement officer shall attempt to contact the owner of the dog or cat and shall seek emergency veterinary care for the animal as soon as available. The law enforcement officer shall leave information of the location of the dog or cat if the owner cannot be reached. The owner of the dog or cat is responsible for any costs of providing care to the dog or cat.
(d) A person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a Class A
misdemeanor. A second or subsequent conviction for a violation of this Section
is a Class 4 felony. In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person who is convicted of violating subsection (a) upon a companion animal in the presence of a child, as defined in Section 12-0.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012, shall be subject to a fine of $250 and ordered to perform community service for not less than 100 hours. In addition to any other penalty provided by law, upon
conviction for violating this Section, the court may order the convicted person
to undergo a psychological or psychiatric evaluation and to undergo any
treatment at the convicted person's expense that the court determines to be
appropriate after due consideration of the evidence. If the convicted person
is a juvenile or a companion animal hoarder, the court must order the convicted
person to undergo a psychological or psychiatric evaluation and to undergo
treatment that the court determines to be appropriate after due consideration
of the evaluation.
(Source: P.A. 99-311, eff. 1-1-16; 99-357, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 99-782, eff. 8-12-16; 100-740, eff. 1-1-19