Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

510 ILCS 5/15.5

    (510 ILCS 5/15.5)
    Sec. 15.5. Reckless dog owner; complaint; penalty.
    (a) The Administrator, State's Attorney, Director, or any citizen may file a complaint in circuit court to determine whether a person is a reckless dog owner. If an owner is determined to be a reckless dog owner by clear and convincing evidence, the court shall order the immediate impoundment and forfeiture of all dogs the reckless dog owner has a property right in. Forfeiture may be to any licensed shelter, rescue, or sanctuary. The court shall further prohibit the property right ownership of a dog by the person determined to be a reckless dog owner for a period of at least 12 months, but not more than 36 months for the first reckless dog owner determination.
    (a-5) A dog's history during ownership by a person found to be a reckless dog owner shall not be considered conclusive of the dog's temperament and qualification for adoption or transfer. The dog's temperament shall be independently evaluated by a person qualified to conduct behavioral assessments and, if the dog is deemed adoptable, the receiving facility shall make a reasonable attempt to place the dog in another home, transfer the dog to rescue, or place the dog in a sanctuary.
    (b) A person who refuses to forfeit a dog under this Section is in violation which carries a public safety fine of $500 for each dog. The fine shall be deposited into the Pet Population Control Fund. Each day a person fails to comply with a forfeiture or prohibition ordered under this Section shall constitute a separate offense.
(Source: P.A. 100-971, eff. 1-1-19; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19.)