Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

430 ILCS 85/2-8.1

    (430 ILCS 85/2-8.1)
    Sec. 2-8.1. Suspension and revocation of permit to operate.
    (a) The Department shall have the power to suspend or revoke an owner's permit for any good cause under the meaning and purpose of this Act. If a person whose permit has been suspended or revoked, or whose application for a permit has been denied, believes that the violation or condition justifying suspension, revocation, or denial of the permit does not exist, the person may apply to the Department for reconsideration through a hearing within 10 business days after the Department's action. A hearing shall be scheduled, unless otherwise mutually agreed by the parties, within 48 hours after the request for hearing.
    (b) Service of notice of a hearing, or any other document related to investigation or enforcement of violations, shall be made by certified mail, by regular mail if service by certified mail cannot be completed, or by email to an email address previously designated by the party to be used for such purpose, to the address shown on the application for permit or to any other address on file with the Department or reasonably believed to be the current address of the permit holder.
    (c) Such written notice of a hearing shall specify the time, date, and location of the hearing and the reasons for the action proposed by the Department.
    (d) At the hearing, the Department shall have the burden of establishing good cause for its action. Good cause exists if the Department establishes that the permit holder has failed to comply with the requirements of a permit under this Act and its rules.
    (e) All hearings held under this Section shall comply with Article 10 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act and the Department's rules of procedure in administrative hearings, except that formal discovery, such as production requests, requests to admit, and depositions shall not be allowed. The parties shall exchange documents and witness lists prior to hearing and may request third party subpoenas to be issued.
    (f) The final determination by the Department of Labor shall be rendered within 5 business days after the conclusion of the hearing.
    (g) Final determinations made under this Section are subject to the Administrative Review Law.
(Source: P.A. 103-177, eff. 1-1-24.)