Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

430 ILCS 68/5-85

    (430 ILCS 68/5-85)
    Sec. 5-85. Disciplinary sanctions.
    (a) For violations of this Act not penalized under Section 5-15, the Illinois State Police may refuse to renew or restore, or may reprimand, place on probation, suspend, revoke, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action against any licensee, and may impose a fine commensurate with the severity of the violation not to exceed $10,000 for each violation for any of the following, consistent with the Protection of Lawful Commerce in Arms Act, 15 U.S.C. 7901 through 7903:
        (1) Violations of this Act, or any law applicable to
the sale or transfer of firearms.
        (2) A pattern of practice or other behavior which
demonstrates incapacity or incompetency to practice under this Act.
        (3) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or rules adopted under this Act.
        (4) Failing, within 60 days, to provide information
in response to a written request made by the Illinois State Police.
        (5) Conviction of, plea of guilty to, or plea of nolo
contendere to any crime that disqualifies the person from obtaining a valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
        (6) Continued practice, although the person has
become unfit to practice due to any of the following:
            (A) Any circumstance that disqualifies the person
from obtaining a valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card or concealed carry license.
            (B) Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
defined in law as controlled substances, alcohol, or any other substance that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (7) Receiving, directly or indirectly, compensation
for any firearms sold or transferred illegally.
        (8) Discipline by another United States jurisdiction,
foreign nation, or governmental agency, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        (9) Violation of any disciplinary order imposed on a
licensee by the Illinois State Police.
        (10) A finding by the Illinois State Police that the
licensee, after having his or her certified license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (11) A fraudulent or material misstatement in the
completion of an affirmative obligation or inquiry by law enforcement.
    (b) All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 90 days after the effective date of the final order imposing the fine.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)