Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
430 ILCS 66/20
(430 ILCS 66/20)
Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board.
(a) There is hereby created within the Illinois State Police a Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board to consider any objection to an applicant's eligibility to obtain a license under this Act submitted by a law enforcement agency or the Illinois State Police under Section 15 of this Act. The Board shall consist of 7 commissioners to be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, with 3 commissioners residing within the First Judicial District and one commissioner residing within each of the 4 remaining Judicial Districts. No more than 4 commissioners shall be members of the same political party. The Governor shall designate one commissioner as the Chairperson. The Board shall consist of:
(1) one commissioner with at least 5 years of service
(2) 2 commissioners with at least 5 years of
experience serving as an attorney with the United States Department of Justice;
(3) 3 commissioners with at least 5 years of
experience as a federal agent or employee with investigative experience or duties related to criminal justice under the United States Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, Department of Homeland Security, or Federal Bureau of Investigation; and
(4) one member with at least 5 years of experience as
a licensed physician or clinical psychologist with expertise in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness.
(b) The initial terms of the commissioners shall end on January 12, 2015. Notwithstanding any provision in this Section to the contrary, the term
of office of each commissioner of the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board is abolished on January 1, 2022 (the effective date of Public Act 102-237). The terms of the commissioners appointed on or after January 1, 2022 (the effective date of Public Act 102-237) shall be as follows: one of
the initial members shall be appointed for a term of one year, 3 shall be
appointed for terms of 2 years, and 3 shall be appointed for terms of 4 years. Thereafter, the commissioners shall hold office for 4 years, with terms expiring on the second Monday in January of the fourth year. Commissioners may be reappointed. Vacancies in the office of commissioner shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, for the remainder of the unexpired term. The Governor may remove a commissioner for incompetence, neglect of duty, malfeasance, or inability to serve. Commissioners shall receive compensation in an amount equal to the compensation of members of the Executive Ethics Commission and may be reimbursed for reasonable expenses actually incurred in the performance of their Board duties, from funds appropriated for that purpose.
(c) The Board shall meet at the call of the chairperson as often as necessary to consider objections to applications for a license under this Act. If necessary to ensure the participation of a commissioner, the Board shall allow a commissioner to participate in a Board meeting by electronic communication. Any commissioner participating electronically shall be deemed present for purposes of establishing a quorum and voting.
(d) The Board shall adopt rules for the review of objections and the conduct of hearings. The Board shall maintain a record of its decisions and all materials considered in making its decisions. All Board decisions and voting records shall be kept confidential and all materials considered by the Board shall be exempt from inspection except upon order of a court.
(e) In considering an objection of a law enforcement agency or the Illinois State Police, the Board shall review the materials received with the objection from the law enforcement agency or the Illinois State Police. By a vote of at least 4 commissioners, the Board may request additional information from the law enforcement agency, Illinois State Police, or the applicant, or the testimony of the law enforcement agency, Illinois State Police, or the applicant. The Board may require that the applicant submit electronic fingerprints to the Illinois State Police for an updated background check where the Board determines it lacks sufficient information to determine eligibility. The Board may only consider information submitted by the Illinois State Police, a law enforcement agency, or the applicant. The Board shall review each objection and determine by a majority of commissioners whether an applicant is eligible for a license.
(f) The Board shall issue a decision within 30 days of receipt of the objection from the Illinois State Police. However, the Board need not issue a decision within 30 days if:
(1) the Board requests information from the
applicant, including but not limited to electronic fingerprints to be submitted to the Illinois State Police, in accordance with subsection (e) of this Section, in which case the Board shall make a decision within 30 days of receipt of the required information from the applicant;
(2) the applicant agrees, in writing, to allow the
Board additional time to consider an objection; or
(3) the Board notifies the applicant and the Illinois
State Police that the Board needs an additional 30 days to issue a decision.
(g) If the Board determines by a preponderance of the evidence that the applicant poses a danger to himself or herself or others, or is a threat to public safety, then the Board shall affirm the objection of the law enforcement agency or the Illinois State Police and shall notify the Illinois State Police that the applicant is ineligible for a license. If the Board does not determine by a preponderance of the evidence that the applicant poses a danger to himself or herself or others, or is a threat to public safety, then the Board shall notify the Illinois State Police that the applicant is eligible for a license.
(h) Meetings of the Board shall not be subject to the Open Meetings Act and records of the Board shall not be subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
(i) The Board shall report monthly to the Governor and the General Assembly on the number of objections received and provide details of the circumstances in which the Board has determined to deny licensure based on law enforcement or Illinois State Police objections under Section 15 of this Act. The report shall not contain any identifying information about the applicants.
(Source: P.A. 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)