Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
430 ILCS 66/10
(430 ILCS 66/10)
Issuance of licenses to carry a concealed firearm.
(a) The Illinois State Police shall issue a license to carry a concealed firearm under this Act to an applicant who:
(1) meets the qualifications of Section 25 of this
(2) has provided the application and documentation
required in Section 30 of this Act;
(3) has submitted the requisite fees; and
(4) does not pose a danger to himself, herself, or
others, or a threat to public safety as determined by the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board in accordance with Section 20.
(b) The Illinois State Police shall issue a renewal, corrected, or duplicate license as provided in this Act.
(c) A license shall be valid throughout the State for a period of 5 years from the date of issuance. A license shall permit the licensee to:
(1) carry a loaded or unloaded concealed firearm,
fully concealed or partially concealed, on or about his or her person; and
(2) keep or carry a loaded or unloaded concealed
firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle.
(d) The Illinois State Police shall make applications for a license available no later than 180 days after July 9, 2013 (the effective date of this Act). The Illinois State Police shall establish rules for the availability and submission of applications in accordance with this Act.
(e) An application for a license submitted to the Illinois State Police that contains all the information and materials required by this Act, including the requisite fee, shall be deemed completed. Except as otherwise provided in this Act, no later than 90 days after receipt of a completed application, the Illinois State Police shall issue or deny the applicant a license. The Illinois State Police shall notify the applicant for a concealed carry license electronically to confirm if all the required information and materials have been received. If an applicant for a concealed carry license submits his or her application electronically, the Illinois State Police shall notify the applicant electronically if his or her application is missing information or materials.
(f) The Illinois State Police shall deny the applicant a license if the applicant fails to meet the requirements under this Act or the Illinois State Police receives a determination from the Board that the applicant is ineligible for a license. The Illinois State Police must notify the applicant stating the grounds for the denial. The notice of denial must inform the applicant of his or her right to an appeal through administrative and judicial review.
(g) A licensee shall possess a license at all times the licensee carries a concealed firearm except:
(1) when the licensee is carrying or possessing a
concealed firearm on his or her land or in his or her abode, legal dwelling, or fixed place of business, or on the land or in the legal dwelling of another person as an invitee with that person's permission;
(2) when the person is authorized to carry a firearm
under Section 24-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012, except subsection (a-5) of that Section; or
(3) when the handgun is broken down in a
non-functioning state, is not immediately accessible, or is unloaded and enclosed in a case.
(h) If an officer of a law enforcement agency initiates an investigative stop, including, but not limited to, a traffic stop, of a licensee or a non-resident carrying a concealed firearm under subsection (e) of
Section 40 of this Act, upon the request of the officer the licensee or non-resident shall disclose to the officer that he or she is in possession of a concealed firearm under this Act, or present the license upon the request of the officer if he or she is a licensee or present upon the request of the officer evidence
under paragraph (2) of subsection (e) of Section 40 of this Act that he or she is a non-resident qualified to carry
under that subsection. The disclosure requirement under this subsection (h) is satisfied if the licensee presents his or her license to the officer or the non-resident presents to the officer evidence under paragraph (2) of subsection (e) of Section 40 of this Act that he or she is qualified to carry under that subsection. Upon the request of the officer, the licensee or non-resident shall also identify the location of the concealed firearm and permit the officer to safely secure the firearm for the duration of the investigative stop. During a traffic stop, any
passenger within the vehicle who is a licensee or a non-resident carrying under subsection (e) of
Section 40 of this Act must comply with the requirements of this subsection (h).
(h-1) If a licensee carrying a firearm or a non-resident carrying a firearm in a vehicle under subsection (e) of Section 40 of this Act is contacted by a law enforcement officer or emergency
services personnel, the law enforcement officer or emergency services personnel may secure the firearm
or direct that it be secured during the duration of the contact if the law enforcement officer or emergency
services personnel determines that it is necessary for the safety of any person
present, including the law enforcement officer or emergency services personnel. The licensee or nonresident
shall submit to the order to secure the firearm. When the law enforcement officer or emergency services
personnel have determined that the licensee or non-resident is not a threat to
the safety of any person present, including the law enforcement officer or emergency services personnel, and
if the licensee or non-resident is physically and mentally capable of
possessing the firearm, the law enforcement officer or emergency services personnel shall return the
firearm to the licensee or non-resident before releasing him or her from the
scene and breaking contact. If the licensee or non-resident is transported for
treatment to another location, the firearm shall be turned over to any peace
officer. The peace officer shall provide a receipt which includes the make,
model, caliber, and serial number of the firearm.
(i) The Illinois State Police shall maintain a database of license applicants and licensees. The database shall be available to all federal, State, and local law enforcement agencies, State's Attorneys, the Attorney General, and authorized court personnel. Within 180 days after July 9, 2013 (the effective date of this Act), the database shall be searchable and provide all information included in the application, including the applicant's previous addresses within the 10 years prior to the license application and any information related to violations of this Act. No law enforcement agency, State's Attorney, Attorney General, or member or staff of the judiciary shall provide any information to a requester who is not entitled to it by law.
(j) No later than 10 days after receipt of a completed application, the Illinois State Police shall enter the relevant information about the applicant into the database under subsection (i) of this Section which is accessible by law enforcement agencies.
(k) The Illinois State Police shall continuously monitor relevant State and federal databases for firearms prohibitors and correlate those records with concealed carry license holders to ensure compliance with this Act, or State and federal law. The Illinois State Police may adopt rules to implement this subsection.
(Source: P.A. 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)