Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(430 ILCS 65/5)
(from Ch. 38, par. 83-5)
Application and renewal.
(a) The Illinois State Police shall either approve or
deny all applications within 30 days from the date they are received,
except as provided in subsections (b) and (c), and every applicant found qualified under Section 8 of this Act by
the Illinois State Police shall be entitled to a Firearm Owner's Identification
Card upon the payment of a $10 fee and applicable processing fees. The processing fees shall be limited to charges by the State Treasurer for using the electronic online payment system. Any applicant who is an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States, a member of the Illinois National Guard, or a member of the Reserve Forces of the United States is exempt from the application fee. $5 of each fee derived from the issuance of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card or renewals thereof shall be deposited in the State Police Firearm Services Fund and $5 into the State Police Revocation Enforcement Fund.
(b) Renewal applications shall be approved or denied within 60 business days, provided the applicant submitted his or her renewal application prior to the expiration of his or her Firearm Owner's Identification Card. If a renewal application has been submitted prior to the expiration date of the applicant's Firearm Owner's Identification Card, the Firearm Owner's Identification Card shall remain valid while the Illinois State Police processes the application, unless the person is subject to or becomes subject to revocation under this Act. The cost for a renewal application shall be $10 and may include applicable processing fees, which shall be limited to charges by the State Treasurer for using the electronic online payment system, which shall be deposited into the State Police Firearm Services Fund.
(c) If the Firearm Owner's Identification Card of a licensee under the Firearm Concealed Carry Act expires during the term of the licensee's concealed carry license, the Firearm Owner's Identification Card and the license remain valid and the licensee does not have to renew his or her Firearm Owner's Identification Card during the duration of the concealed carry license. Unless the Illinois State Police has reason to believe the licensee is no longer eligible for the card, the Illinois State Police may automatically renew the licensee's Firearm Owner's Identification Card and send a renewed Firearm Owner's Identification Card to the licensee.
(d) The Illinois State Police may adopt rules concerning the use of voluntarily submitted fingerprints, as allowed by State and federal law.
(Source: P.A. 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)