Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

425 ILCS 60/4

    (425 ILCS 60/4) (from Ch. 127 1/2, par. 804)
    Sec. 4. (a) Except as provided in subsection (c), willful failure to install or maintain in operating condition any smoke detector required by this Act shall be a Class B misdemeanor.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (c), tampering with, removing, destroying, disconnecting or removing the batteries from any installed smoke detector, except in the course of inspection, maintenance or replacement of the detector, shall be a Class A misdemeanor in the case of a first conviction, and a Class 4 felony in the case of a second or subsequent conviction.
    (c) A party in violation of the battery requirements of subsection (e) of Section 3 of this Act shall be provided with 90 days' warning with which to rectify that violation. If that party fails to rectify the violation within that 90-day period, he or she may be assessed a fine of up to $100, and may be fined $100 every 30 days thereafter until either the violation is rectified or the cumulative amount of fines assessed reaches $1,500. The provisions of subsection (a) and (b) of this Section shall apply only after the penalty provided under this subsection (c) has been exhausted to the extent that a violating party has reached the $1,500 cumulative fine threshold and has failed to rectify the violation.
    If the alleged violation has been corrected prior to or on the date of the hearing scheduled to adjudicate the alleged violation, then the violation shall be dismissed.
(Source: P.A. 100-200, eff. 1-1-23; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)