Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

415 ILCS 120/35

    (415 ILCS 120/35)
    Sec. 35. User fees.
    (a) The Office of the Secretary of State shall collect annual user fees from any individual, partnership, association, corporation, or agency of the United States government that registers any combination of 10 or more of the following types of motor vehicles in the Covered Area: (1) vehicles of the First Division, as defined in the Illinois Vehicle Code; (2) vehicles of the Second Division registered under the B, C, D, F, H, MD, MF, MG, MH and MJ plate categories, as defined in the Illinois Vehicle Code; and (3) commuter vans and livery vehicles as defined in the Illinois Vehicle Code. This Section does not apply to vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan under Section 3-402.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code. The user fee shall be $20 for each vehicle registered in the Covered Area for each fiscal year. The Office of the Secretary of State shall collect the $20 when a vehicle's registration fee is paid.
    (b) Owners of State, county, and local government vehicles, rental vehicles, antique vehicles, expanded-use antique vehicles, electric vehicles, and motorcycles are exempt from paying the user fees on such vehicles.
    (c) The Office of the Secretary of State shall deposit the user fees collected into the Electric Vehicle Rebate Fund.
(Source: P.A. 101-505, eff. 1-1-20; 102-662, eff. 9-15-21.)